Re cycle?

VicGon90

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all I'm new to this and have started a 10Gal waterbox I have a small live rock and live sand I started the cycle with turbo900 and used ammonia chloride from fritz it's been 7 weeks now and my parameter readings are all over the place my ammonia is at .025 my nitrites are 0 and my nitrates are at 160ppm I have been doing water changes 50% and the readings are still the same, I have no fish no corals no invertebrates, can I start all over, new rock,new sand?? Start from scratch? Can I just clean my filter media? It's driving me crazy I'm being patient but I just want it get it right,any advice will be appreciated

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
your tank is likely already done, as moving live rocks from pet store to home doesnt kill the bacteria they transfer.

you can see from google searches that api .25 is common/no problem. post a pic of your rocks w white lighting and we can tell you if it was already cycled. the rock came from water/tank at the pet store right, wasnt dry?

fritz cycles any tank in 48 hours, this is in addition to your live rock likelihood.

the reason you dont seem cycled: you are using test kits that dont give accurate readings. thankfully, pending pics we dont need any test pics to see if rock has the pigmentation of live rock vs bone white dry rock.

brandon429

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
go to edit/attach file then upload ones that are saved to your pc

OP
OP
V

VicGon90

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_20201019_142124.jpg
IMG_20201019_142053.jpg
IMG_20201019_142117.jpg

your tank is likely already done, as moving live rocks from pet store to home doesnt kill the bacteria they transfer.