reef-pi :: An open source Raspberry Pi based reef tank controller

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by Ranjib, Feb 10, 2017.

  1. Ranjib

    Ranjib Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    I see, that makes whole lotta sense.
     
    Cary and njtiger aquariums like this.

  2. Reef Monkie

    Reef Monkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    125
    From seeing you tanks it looks like I might have to reconsider my plans for reef-pi as it seems there isn't any support for the t/Ang protocol. :/

    Sorry bad joke, I really like the aquascape of the 3rd tank, it has a really nice balance and such a peaceful feel to it.
     
    Ranjib, Cary, Somnifac and 2 others like this.
  3. Cary

    Cary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    Allen, Tx
    Has anyone had issues upgrading to 0.8.1? I tried and seemed to have failed. I had to remove 0.8.1 and reload 0.7. I was using the upgrade procedure over SSH.

    I don't need the problem solved, just wondered if anyone else had issues.

    When I load it again I will be prepared to caputre screens if needed.

    thanks
     
    njtiger aquariums and Ranjib like this.
  4. Ranjib

    Ranjib Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    by failed you mean `apt-get install` failed ?or something else?
     
    njtiger aquariums and Cary like this.
  5. Cary

    Cary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    Allen, Tx
    I am not sure. I don't see the apt-get install command is listed in our upgrade procedure. I followed the exact procedure that we have listed - it has worked each time I used it prior to 0.8.1.

    My problem seemed to be that the install worked but I would get a 404 message when I tried to access the reef-pi. The log in fields were not displayed as well.

    I will try it again Thursday evening and report back.
     
    njtiger aquariums likes this.
  6. Ranjib

    Ranjib Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    If you are getting 404, it means you are not authenticated. Reef-pi installation must have succeeded (other wise you wont get even 404). Try to do a har refresh of the page, that should bring up the sign in dialog.

    I really have to think how can I fix this. It seems to happen with every new upgrades.
     
    njtiger aquariums, Bronc and Cary like this.
  7. Cary

    Cary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    Allen, Tx
    I have never had this happen in the past. I don't think I will have a chance tonight, but I will definitely have time tomorrow evening. Thanks for the reply.
     
    njtiger aquariums likes this.
  8. Ryan115

    Ryan115 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    522
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Nevermind...
     
    njtiger aquariums and Cary like this.
  9. Bronc

    Bronc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Is there a default username and password? I tried wiping reef-pi and reinstalling but I’m stuck at the username and password screen. If I set one, I can’t remember what it was. ;Facepalm
     
    njtiger aquariums, Ranjib and Cary like this.
  10. Bronc

    Bronc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Nevermind, I found it.
     
    njtiger aquariums, Ranjib and Cary like this.
  11. Cary

    Cary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    Allen, Tx
    Just tried again and had same issue. I reloaded the page. Opened another tab. Tried 0.0.0.0:8080. Tried the correct IP address:8080. I must be doing something wrong. Going back to 0.7.

    Screenshot from 2017-11-08 17-15-54.png

    Screenshot from 2017-11-08 17-16-20.png
     
    njtiger aquariums likes this.
  12. Cary

    Cary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    Allen, Tx
    .7 loaded correctly and I have my screen again.

    Screenshot from 2017-11-08 17-21-38.png
     
    njtiger aquariums and Ranjib like this.
  13. Ranjib

    Ranjib Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    Did you get it working? 0.8.1 ?
     
    njtiger aquariums and Cary like this.
  14. Ranjib

    Ranjib Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    You dont have installation issue. Did you remove the database file before 0.8.1 installation.
    I was wrong on saying 404 error code is authentication related. Its not, its due to missing api. 401 code is related to authentication , 404 on the other hand is related to missing things.

    This is what I think is happening:
    In 0.8 release I have changed the 'system' tab to 'configuration' , along side the database location. So, in 0.7 and below all you capabilities (lighting, timers, ato , temperature etc) was stored under 'system' keyspace in database, 0.8 it became 'configuration' keyspace. When you run 0.8 with an older database, reef-pi controller (the bits that runs on raspberry pi) does not see any capability enabled, hence does not enable the corresponding API, and when the UI (reef-pi bits that runs on your browser) requests those API , it gets 404.

    Try doing a clean installation:
    1) remove reef-pi software and database
    2) install 0.8.1
    3) Do a hard refresh on browser (Ctl+shift+f5 or whatever is the equivalent for your browser)
     
    njtiger aquariums and Cary like this.
  15. Bronc

    Bronc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Yep, all set. I don’t have any hardware yet, but I noticed that when I enabled the temp monitor it is showing the room temperature. Must be a sensor on the Pi3 - very cool!
     
    njtiger aquariums, Cary and Ranjib like this.
  16. Ranjib

    Ranjib Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    Thats odd. Raspberry Pi does not have any on-board temperature sensor. Do you have 'dev_mode' enabled (under configuration -> settings -> capabilities) ? If so, reef-pi will emit fake data.
     
    njtiger aquariums and Cary like this.
  17. Bronc

    Bronc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Yep, I did have dev mode enabled.
     
    njtiger aquariums and Cary like this.
  18. Ranjib

    Ranjib Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    Cary, njtiger aquariums and Bronc like this.
  19. njtiger aquariums

    njtiger aquariums Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    NJ
    It's great to have the dev-mode option. Maybe you could flag somewhere in your UI (with color/text/etc...) That let's the user know they are running in dev-mode.
     
    Cary and Ranjib like this.
  20. Ranjib

    Ranjib Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    I asked one of my top aide to run the scope
    1DAD7A1F-C20C-47AD-B889-75E9C16DEAB4.jpeg

    The results are same, 535hz

    89F9AEE4-908B-468E-9E55-22CEACB29662.jpeg
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...