reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

Des Westcott

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
646
Reaction score
1,035
Location
Durban - South Africa
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are you using the right port? Did you enabled https ?
Haha. You just exceeded my pay-grade there. lol

How do I check those? What should they be?

I am having a bit of a problem with my Google account at the moment. Could that be the problem?

On a slightly different note, A reminder from my timers just came through, so the problem isn't with Reef-Pi, it's definitely between the screen and the back of the chair.
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Haha. You just exceeded my pay-grade there. lol

How do I check those? What should they be?

I am having a bit of a problem with my Google account at the moment. Could that be the problem?

On a slightly different note, A reminder from my timers just came through, so the problem isn't with Reef-Pi, it's definitely between the screen and the back of the chair.
sometime when you access website that has https configured in non-https mode, browser does not understand that data and instead of showing the UI it just download the content (because it expects plain text data, while that actual data is encrypted). The reverse has same issue as well, when you access an http (non encrypted) website in https mode then also the brower downloads the data instead of showing the UI, since it expects encrypted data, but website is returning plain text,.

Explicitly type your website url including the scheme (http/https) and port to fix this. This bypass browser's auto detection (its based on port, http uses port 80, while https uses port 443) and instead user overrides all those details. A typical website address (also called as URL) takes this form:
Code:
scheme://Host or IP: Port
example:
Code:
http://foobar.com:80
#or
https://10.0.0.1:443
When default port is used (80 for http and 443 for https) it can be omitted
Code:
http://foobar.com
#or
https://10.0.0.1
Since reef-pi allows user to specify both the details (port and https) it is possible mess things up, i.e. use port 443 with http or port 80 with https. Both of them is legal (i.e. reef-pi will work fine and site can be accessed if all the details in address are provided explicitly) but its highly un-conventional and create problem for users (like the download thing) when they try to access website using just IP or hostname. To examplify, if you enable https and not updated the address to use port 443, then if you just type IP or hostname as address in browser without specifying port, it will download the page (since it cant understand) instead of rendering it.

I dont know for sure if this is your problem, but just to be safe, use full http://IP:port or https://IP:port format to access reef-pi to avoid any confusion.
 

sector9

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
129
Reaction score
190
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
One of the new feature that I am liking is ability to see some of the critical errors from UI. Here is an example of telemetry error (failure to submit data in adafruit.io, not sure if it was my router's error or adafruit.io)
Screen Shot 2018-10-27 at 3.26.01 PM.png
Is there a way to select which variables to send to adafruit for telemetry? I get error after error every couple of minutes because my reefpi is trying to send too many feeds that the basic adafruit account can’t handle
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is there a way to select which variables to send to adafruit for telemetry? I get error after error every couple of minutes because my reefpi is trying to send too many feeds that the basic adafruit account can’t handle
Not currently. Its gonna be some work to make individual components selectable for adafruit.io. I suggest you either reduce the number of feeds (disable health check, delete the corresponding feed in adafruit io.. etc) or disable it completely instead of perpetually hammering their API. I use multiple builds and consolidate the ones I want to send data to adafruit.io in a single/minimal build to circumvent this.
 

JohnRLewis

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
5
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check out this implementation of a feed mode button.
https://gist.github.com/JohnRudolfLewis/3095689bb80fd6ef6b94240519ff282c

I would rather have used a macro to implement my feed mode button.

But seems there is no way to trigger a macro on a button press yet.

And I wanted to toggle between two different feed modes and allow me to stop the feed mode timer early.
 

JohnRLewis

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
5
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check out this implementation of a feed mode button.
https://gist.github.com/JohnRudolfLewis/3095689bb80fd6ef6b94240519ff282c

I would rather have used a macro to implement my feed mode button.

But seems there is no way to trigger a macro on a button press yet.

And I wanted to toggle between two different feed modes and allow me to stop the feed mode timer early.
 

b4tn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
1,673
Reaction score
2,241
Location
Columbia MD
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think I found another bug unless I am misunderstanding something with rules. I have two pumps set up to alternate each hour. I have them set up like below

b235563bf86fdc54734b6a38cd5abc49.jpg
fe22ac3b4ebb4f040de43ed499eb4757.jpg


Set up as pictured it works flawlessly. Every 30 seconds one pump is turned off and the other turns on back and forth. It will do this all day and night no issues. The problem comes when I try and do this hourly. The setup is the same except I moved the action to apply on the 30 minute mark of each hour then to either turn off or turn on at 3600 seconds (1 hour). It works for exactly 3 hours going back and forth then on the fourth hour the pump that is supposed to turn off does not turn off at the 30 minute mark and the other one does not turn on. It stays in that state until I reset the rules either to a different value and back or delete and rebuild the rule. I have tracked this 3 times now and all three times it fails on the 4th hour
 

sector9

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
129
Reaction score
190
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@sector9 your post also reminded me that I've been meaning to actually print the logo in colour rather than just have it as an outline on the boxes :) my first time swapping filaments mid print but it came out pretty good if you ask me :p
20181029_024421.jpg
Yes that turned out great! Your printer is dialed in well. This is a little different outline than the one posted earlier on thingiverse?
 

Michael Lane

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
677
Reaction score
1,123
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check out this implementation of a feed mode button.
https://gist.github.com/JohnRudolfLewis/3095689bb80fd6ef6b94240519ff282c

I would rather have used a macro to implement my feed mode button.

But seems there is no way to trigger a macro on a button press yet.

And I wanted to toggle between two different feed modes and allow me to stop the feed mode timer early.
Nice!
We'll be adding gpio interrupts to reef-pi after 2.0 is finalized. Seeing your script, I'm also starting to think about adding conditionals to macro definitions, so a start/stop macro could be structured a lot like what you've got. We also have an issue logged to track triggers for macros, so a button press for feed timers is definitely coming in the future.
 

Michael Lane

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
677
Reaction score
1,123
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think I found another bug unless I am misunderstanding something with rules. I have two pumps set up to alternate each hour. I have them set up like below

b235563bf86fdc54734b6a38cd5abc49.jpg
fe22ac3b4ebb4f040de43ed499eb4757.jpg


Set up as pictured it works flawlessly. Every 30 seconds one pump is turned off and the other turns on back and forth. It will do this all day and night no issues. The problem comes when I try and do this hourly. The setup is the same except I moved the action to apply on the 30 minute mark of each hour then to either turn off or turn on at 3600 seconds (1 hour). It works for exactly 3 hours going back and forth then on the fourth hour the pump that is supposed to turn off does not turn off at the 30 minute mark and the other one does not turn on. It stays in that state until I reset the rules either to a different value and back or delete and rebuild the rule. I have tracked this 3 times now and all three times it fails on the 4th hour

@b4tn I wonder if you mean to turn back on/off after 1800 seconds instead of 3600 to turn on and off every half hour. Based on your description, it sounds like you are turning it on every hour, then turning it off after 1 hour, but immediately turning back on. I think it appears to work for the first few hours due to weird timing behavior of the follow up action occurring right after the next scheduled action.

If you actually want the powerhead on for 1 hour, then off for 1 hour, then I think the hour field should have "*/2" instead of "*"
 

b4tn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
1,673
Reaction score
2,241
Location
Columbia MD
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@b4tn I wonder if you mean to turn back on/off after 1800 seconds instead of 3600 to turn on and off every half hour. Based on your description, it sounds like you are turning it on every hour, then turning it off after 1 hour, but immediately turning back on. I think it appears to work for the first few hours due to weird timing behavior of the follow up action occurring right after the next scheduled action.

If you actually want the powerhead on for 1 hour, then off for 1 hour, then I think the hour field should have "*/2" instead of "*"

@Michael Lane im not following. I am trying to set up two pumps to be on for one hour and off for one hour but opposite each other ie when one is on the other is off and vice versa. I’m not sure what you mean with the */2 in the hour area. Right now 30 is in the minute section and the off or on depending on the pump is 3600.
 

NS Mike D

In the arena.
View Badges
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Messages
2,266
Reaction score
4,796
Location
Huntington. NY
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Once again, I am considering reefpi. My need is to control my power heads. I have four in the tank. I'd like to have the run two at time on 6 hours shifts to minic (somewhat) tidal flow while also periods of all pumps on to create some turbulance. I think this will be scheduling on/off over a 24 hour day. For feeding, until the macro is ready, I assume I can run a simple on/off manual switch to cut the power supply to the outlets without affecting with the reefpi. My lights are Rapid LED Coronas, so they program right from my phone so no need to have that module. My ATO has it's own relay, so gain, no need at this time to add that module and I do have my heaters run through a WillHi controller, but this may be such a simple module I may tackle it.

I do have lights over my HOB fuge and my sump. These are simple on/off schedules so makes sense to turn these over to the reefpi and thus I can get rid of the bulky timer included power strip.

so my outlets would be

controlled by reef pi
4 power heads (manual on/off bypass)
2 heaters
2 fuge lights

Simple outlets
2 sump pumps
1 DT light
2 ATO
1 Sump float switch
1 reactor


any thoughts on my basic plan?
 

Michael Lane

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
677
Reaction score
1,123
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Michael Lane im not following. I am trying to set up two pumps to be on for one hour and off for one hour but opposite each other ie when one is on the other is off and vice versa. I’m not sure what you mean with the */2 in the hour area. Right now 30 is in the minute section and the off or on depending on the pump is 3600.
@b4tn Your schedule is set to run every hour at minute 30, so it will turn on the pump every hour. It runs for 3600 seconds, then turns off, but the macro is also set to turn it back on at that same time.

Example
1:30 - Turn on, then turn off (after 3600 seconds) at 2:30
2:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 3:30
3:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 4:30
... etc

If you set Hour to */2, then it will run every other hour (here's a cheatsheet https://healthchecks.io/docs/cron/)

Example
2:30 - Turn on, then turn off (after 3600 seconds) at 3:30
4:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 5:30
6:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 7:30
...etc
 

b4tn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
1,673
Reaction score
2,241
Location
Columbia MD
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@b4tn Your schedule is set to run every hour at minute 30, so it will turn on the pump every hour. It runs for 3600 seconds, then turns off, but the macro is also set to turn it back on at that same time.

Example
1:30 - Turn on, then turn off (after 3600 seconds) at 2:30
2:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 3:30
3:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 4:30
... etc

If you set Hour to */2, then it will run every other hour (here's a cheatsheet https://healthchecks.io/docs/cron/)

Example
2:30 - Turn on, then turn off (after 3600 seconds) at 3:30
4:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 5:30
6:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 7:30
...etc

Got it!! Thanks so much that cheat sheet is perfect for explaining it!!
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think I found another bug unless I am misunderstanding something with rules. I have two pumps set up to alternate each hour. I have them set up like below

b235563bf86fdc54734b6a38cd5abc49.jpg
fe22ac3b4ebb4f040de43ed499eb4757.jpg


Set up as pictured it works flawlessly. Every 30 seconds one pump is turned off and the other turns on back and forth. It will do this all day and night no issues. The problem comes when I try and do this hourly. The setup is the same except I moved the action to apply on the 30-minute mark of each hour then to either turn off or turn on at 3600 seconds (1 hour). It works for exactly 3 hours going back and forth then on the fourth hour the pump that is supposed to turn off does not turn off at the 30-minute mark and the other one does not turn on. It stays in that state until I reset the rules either to a different value and back or delete and rebuild the rule. I have tracked this 3 times now and all three times it fails on the 4th hour
Can you share the screenshot of your hourly setup? I'll try to reproduce it. Here is what I am using:

Screen Shot 2018-10-28 at 11.58.23 AM.png
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@b4tn Your schedule is set to run every hour at minute 30, so it will turn on the pump every hour. It runs for 3600 seconds, then turns off, but the macro is also set to turn it back on at that same time.

Example
1:30 - Turn on, then turn off (after 3600 seconds) at 2:30
2:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 3:30
3:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 4:30
... etc

If you set Hour to */2, then it will run every other hour (here's a cheatsheet https://healthchecks.io/docs/cron/)

Example
2:30 - Turn on, then turn off (after 3600 seconds) at 3:30
4:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 5:30
6:30 - Turn on, then turn off at 7:30
...etc
I'll add the cheatsheet link in power guide :) . Thank you for sharing.
 

Just grow it: Have you ever added CO2 to your reef tank?

  • I currently use a CO2 with my reef tank.

    Votes: 8 5.4%
  • I don’t currently use CO2 with my reef tank, but I have in the past.

    Votes: 5 3.4%
  • I have never used CO2 with my reef tank, but I plan to in the future.

    Votes: 8 5.4%
  • I have never used CO2 with my reef tank and have no plans to in the future.

    Votes: 120 81.6%
  • Other.

    Votes: 6 4.1%
Back
Top