Reef Safe Plastics

Oscar47f

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have been in the reef aquarium hobby for about 4 years now and I am a mechanical engineering student in college with a big interest in 3D printing. I would like to use the knowledge I have to better my reef tanks by printing any parts or things that I need.

Searching through Reef2Reef and other forums I find a lot of talk about ABS, PLA and other more coming plastics however barely any definitive answer as to which one is really safe for reef tanks. I know there aren't definitive studies on the long term affects of plastics in reef tanks however most if not everyone does keep plastic in their aquariums. For those people who have used ABA, PLA or PETG how have those plastics held up in your aquariums? And for anyone who has extensive knowledge in plastics and chemistry in general what is your opinion on using Nylon or Nylon X ( carbon fiber infused)? And finally what type of plastics to industry leaders like ecotech and other companies make their products out of? Thanks for the help, cant wait to see the responses!

sbash

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Both ABS and PLA are reef safe. A lot of our equipment uses ABS.

PLA however, WILL degrade if kept in water. Different brands degrade at different rates; the degradation is technically a carbon source so it is completely reef safe. I would not hesitate to use PLA in my tanks if it was for something non-structural (like an algae clip for example). I used PLA for an ATO part once and after about 18 months it wore out.

Most of the parts I print for the tank I use PETG and have for quite some time now without issue.

Nylon filament should also be perfectly reef safe.

Also, check out this thread about 3d printing and vote please if you have not already:

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/get-any-part-you-need-right-here.321961/