Reefbrite fixture with 20k radium?

Madison Reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They need a strong demand to do the investment. I'm not sure how we would be able to define such demand, but that is what they told me. It's serious business to invest in fixtures.
Just out of curiosity as I am currently studying and dissembling old ballasts, what are some real world challenges to make new ballasts? I do not quite understand why there needs a strong demand to make ballasts (except for economical reason of course). Is there any raw material that is hard to source?

A. grandis

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just out of curiosity as I am currently studying and dissembling old ballasts, what are some real world challenges to make new ballasts? I do not quite understand why there needs a strong demand to make ballasts (except for economical reason of course). Is there any raw material that is hard to source?
Yup, pure economical reasons, I would think. They need to know they will sell their products, right? The strong demand was the only reason they invested on their new bulbs.
Last year they said there was a problem "finding raw materials" to continue to make Hamilton magnetic ballasts and fixtures, per Hamilton. As far as I know, the new company is willing to make fixtures and ballasts, but they say there is not enough demand for that move at the moment. No substantial evidence of that demand. Unless people ask them, they won't make fixtures and ballasts. This is what's going on. If they make at least 3 size fixtures, magnetic ballasts, and invest in some advertisement, things will start to fly again! I think if they don't make fixtures and ballasts this new generation won't have enough boost to try! It just doesn't make sense to make bulbs and not make fixtures and ballasts IMHO. They are probably afraid of investing a lot of money without any basis to do so.

Madison Reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%