150 Glass Cages SPS Reef

Syntax1235

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first build thread, but my third reef over the past 20 years. I ordered a Glass Cages 60 x 24 x 25 tank and had them build an external overflow peninsula style on the left side of the tank. The front and right side glass is low iron glass and I painted the back panel black. Due to the position of the tank, two side viewing angles would work best. I did not have the room for a coast-to-coast overflow behind the tank, space is at a premium. The tank took almost 4 months to complete with a few delays; however, the wait may just have been worth it... it is beautiful. I decided on a tank with a frame to cover the water line, Glass Cages used this nice high end feel material to wrap the bottom and top, doesn't feel like the cheap plastic of some tanks. The tank has euro bracing on the top and the bottom, it is very well built.

Here's a picture of the tank before it was put on a pallet and shipped:

Tank at Glass Cages.JPEG

Before the tank arrived I had four months to plan on how I was going to build the stand, plumb the tank, and decide on equipment. Here's a picture of the skeleton of the tank, notched 4x4's on the corners and 2x4's for the remainder of the support structure. Notice the lack of a center brace, there's no need since the skeleton is strong and covered with 1/2 inch plywood. I also have more room to work in the sump area with out that brace in the way.

IMG_2564.JPG

Here's a picture of the lights. I'm using 2 Reefbrite 250 watt mh/XHO lights using the 20k twin arc bulbs. I had these in storage from a previous built.

IMG_2565.JPG

After researching equipment I decided to go with the following:

The Particulars:
-Glass Cages Custom Tank
-Life Reef venturi skimmer
-Hydros controller: XP8 / XS4 / Wave Engine ETM
-Bashsea 46 inch sump
-Sicce Silent used for return pump and another for the skimmer.