Return pump section in sump

Total Newb

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey friends. Total newb and never operated a sump before. Have everything up and running. My Varios return pump is set at the minimum setting. When I go to increase the flow it empties the return tank too fast and ends up sucking air. What I am doing wrong?? I have the flow valve adjusted all the way to the left. Reefer 750.

shakacuz

hang loose, cuz
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
the return pump is pumping water faster back up to your display faster than the water is reaching the return chamber. either lower the return pump speed more, or increase the drain from your display via gate valve

dbowman5

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
the third idea that needs to be addressed is the volume of water in the return chamber. when you start the pump there needs to be enough volume to fill the pipes and still have enough to keep the intake of the return pump submerged far enough to avoid sucking air.

Little c big D

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
the third idea that needs to be addressed is the volume of water in the return chamber. when you start the pump there needs to be enough volume to fill the pipes and still have enough to keep the intake of the return pump submerged far enough to avoid sucking air.
I can only imagine if it's full at low speed then volume wouldn't be issue?

KStatefan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can only imagine if it's full at low speed then volume wouldn't be issue?

When you increase the flow to the display the water level in the display will go up. The amount will depend on the overflow design. Without adding water it is possible for the return pump section to be to low.

Little c big D

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0