RODI filters questions

canadianeh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey reefers!

It is my first time shopping for RODI filters. I bought my Spectrapure RODI unit in Jan 2020. This morning the on board TDS meter shows 1 ppm. In the course of its life, I have never replaced any of the filters. ( I wonder if that is the reason why I have two polyps bail out :()

Anyway, my questions:
- Can I use any other brand such as Aquafx to replace the membrane, carbon, and the whole nine yard? Or do I have to go with Spectrapure only?
-What micron size I should get for each one of them to get optimal filtration?

Thanks!

Poof No Eyebrows

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure about the micron size (I order filters from the oem who makes the unit) but you should definitely be changing the filters regularly. Again, my unit recommends every 4000 gallons or 9 months for the three main filters (sediment, and carbon). The di "filter" usually has a color change to indicate the material is exhausted. Also, you shouldn't have to change the membrane that often. I actually drink some of my water every now and then to see if it tastes dirty. Of course mileage will very with use and quality of water supply.

KStatefan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1 tds where?

Most systems use the same type of filters.

OP
OP
canadianeh

canadianeh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0