Salt Mix Recommendations

Reefer37

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm new to making saltwater, been using LFS water and they use Fritz salt.
Finally ordering an RODI system and going to be making my own saltwater and all.
I know it's ideal to use to same salt you've been using with your system, but Fritz salt is like 2-3x's more expensive than some of the other brands out there.

Is there an alternate a bit cheaper I can use for making my own?

I know there's a lot of differing opinions on the "best salt mix", but really I'm just looking to match actual sea water levels.

ShepherdReefer

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have used the Red Sea salt for many years. After making fresh saltwater and leaving for a few days, I did not like the way it looked. I just switched to Tropic Marin Pro Reef and don't have too much of an opinion yet, but so far so good.

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
On the low end price should be instant ocean (IO) which is a great salt for Fish only.
If you doing corals, consider Reef Crystals (RC), again, should be in a low price point.
I seen beautiful reef tanks with both of these.

I would love to use Tropic Marin, great salt by far, but, at $180 a pail, compared to $90 for the Red Sea, can’t justify that.

I use Red Sea Pro because it matches my parameters.

0E97CB7A-7058-4DCB-94D2-A62653A39E08.jpeg

Last edited:

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Tropic Marin worth Every Penny

Plecosam

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Redsea, looks perfectly clear to me, I would use Tropic Marin but for availability, Redsea mixes very quickly and practically without any residue for me. Quantum Reef is also highly recommended.

Saltyreef

I'm not your dad...
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0