Should I switch from Bacto balance?

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

MJV15

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Two part question,

I’ve been dosing NP Bacto balance for about 5 months. Im currently dosing 1ml daily and it keeps my phosphate nailed at .03 but it’s darn near impossible to get my nitrate above 0. Ive tried backing off my dose of Bacto Balance. If I dose 1ml every 3 days I can get 1 nitrate but my phosphate goes up to around .09. Not that those numbers are bad. But I’d like to be 1n and .03p if possible. Or as close to it as I can get, I’m a little OCD if you can’t tell.

First question- should I stick with what I’m currently doing trying to fine tune my dose? Or switch to one of TMs other dosing options, elimi NP or Plus NP?

Second question- if I should switch, can I mix the two together to make the transition smoother. For example mix 1/3 Plus NP to 2/3 Bacto balance ?

Im probably over thinking all this but I’ve been pretty happy with everything in my tank all my acros have great polyp extension and growth has been pretty solid. The only down side, and the reason why I want my nitrate up is I’ve noticed that a few of my pink acros have started to pale or grey out a bit. I’ve notice as my phosphate goes up I need to clean my glass daily sometimes twice daily. I’ve tried dosing nitrate but it’s gone pretty quick and I really don’t want another product to dose if I can just switch my carbon sources to get the same effect.

Thanks for any help

Last edited:
OP
OP
MJV15

MJV15

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I guess to simply my above narrative question is simply. Can I raise my nitrate while at the same time keeping my phosphate down? If yes what is the “best” way of doing that?

Thanks again!

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0