Show Off Your WaterBox! :)

Bos

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
123
Reaction score
36
Beautiful tanks, why the decision to use two 7" socks on 170.4/5 instead of four standard 4" socks, would it not provide better filtration, more filtering options ie cups+marine pure etc and it would probably be more cost effective to only manufacture a WB 4" sock and cup right?
 
Last edited:

jschultzbass

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
1,363
Reaction score
922
Location
Cloquet, MN
Beautiful tanks, why the decision to use two 7" socks on 170.4/5 instead of four standard 4" socks, would it not provide better filtration, more filtering options ie cups+marine pure etc and it would probably be more cost effective to only manufacture a WB 4" sock and cup right?
The 7" socks have a lot more surface area and can run longer without cleaning. I have 4 4" socks on my bigger tank and wish I had went with 7" instead.
 

Devaji

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 27, 2016
Messages
3,951
Reaction score
3,419
Location
Jackson Hole, WY
question for you guys how do you like there stands?
is it real plywood laminated or MDF/MDO stuff?

does anyone know if you can make a 36x24x30 stand? I dont like em to tall...
 

techlifejourney

Member
View Badges
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
31
Here is my waterbox 40.1! I've been very happy with it so far. Great aquarium and built quality! It can get a little noisy depending on your water level but not too much. Anyone know a good skimmer that would fit in this sump? I've had a hard time finding a skimmer that would fit other then maybe the tunze 9004 skimmer.
IMG_3708.jpg
Screenshot-2018-6-2  techlifejourney • Instagram photos and videos.png
IMG_2566.jpg
 

Zeal

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 15, 2018
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
1,295
Location
South Florida
My new Waterbox 170.4/5
Need recommendations for the ATO section. I will not be using it for fresh water. I was thinking Fuge but the water level is really close to the top. Any thoughts?
20180904_211233.jpeg
20180909_175547.jpeg
20180909_175730.jpeg
20180909_175531.jpeg
20180902_220328.jpeg
We all gonna ignore the sump with the frag tank?!? That's awesome. Is that the sump that came wit the tank?

Care to explain whats going on In there?
 

Mester320

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
390
Reaction score
116
Location
Saint Marys, PA
We all gonna ignore the sump with the frag tank?!? That's awesome. Is that the sump that came wit the tank?

Care to explain whats going on In there?
Thanks. So it does come with the divider/overflow but I just made the rack and it is a little over kill but I am lighting it with an A360. It is working awesome and I use one of the manifold exits for water flow
 

Zeal

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 15, 2018
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
1,295
Location
South Florida
Thanks. So it does come with the divider/overflow but I just made the rack and it is a little over kill but I am lighting it with an A360. It is working awesome and I use one of the manifold exits for water flow
So legit, so youre not running cheato?

Gonna steal this idea for future tank. Also do you run into any heat problems in there?There must be lost of evaporation
 

Lui1521

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
262
Reaction score
127

Nht

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
231
Reaction score
54


Here’s my 170.4/5. I’d have to say I am really impressed and glad I went with this over Red Sea. The 26 inch depth from front to back you cannot get that with other prebuilt tanks and that’s the primary reason I went with the Waterbox. No regrets...
 

How do you run activated carbon on your reef tank?

  • Reactor

    Votes: 241 36.5%
  • Filter Sock

    Votes: 28 4.2%
  • Mesh Bag

    Votes: 298 45.2%
  • Other (please explain in the thread)

    Votes: 11 1.7%
  • I don't run Carbon

    Votes: 82 12.4%

Online statistics

Members online
2,264
Guests online
5,382
Total visitors
7,646
Motorcitycorals
Top