Sound OFF: It's all about that FLOW that FLOW that FLOW!

Is laminar flow or chaotic flow better for your reef aquarium and which do you choose?

• Laminar Flow Is Better

Votes: 107 15.1%
  • Chaotic Flow Is Better

Votes: 603 84.9%

• Total voters

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I want to hear from you today about flow in your reef tank! Based on what you know and how you reef please answer the following question.

Is laminar flow or chaotic flow better for your reef aquarium and which do you choose?

Tank_007.jpg

image via @Berlibee

OP
OP
revhtree

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Obligatory “it depends” post. I am not an expert in this subject matter so I just thought I’d contribute what is always the answer to nearly any A or B question :D

WVNed

The fish are staring at me with hungry eyes.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is like asking me which is better, salt or pepper.
Correctly seasoned food has some of both.

I have just increased what you are calling laminar flow in my tank in an attempt to keep some livestock cleaner so I don't have to blow it off 6 times a day.

OP
OP
revhtree

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
But did you sleep at a Holiday Inn last night?

Obligatory “it depends” post. I am not an expert in this subject matter so I just thought I’d contribute what is always the answer to nearly any A or B question :D

OP
OP
revhtree

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
That is like asking me which is better, salt or pepper.
Correctly seasoned food has some of both.

If you had to choose one...

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
revhtree

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges