Starfish?

jwt1603

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm pretty new to this. Started with a 16G Biocube about 6 months ago. Set it up based on the recommendations of a LFS. Which have all pretty much turned out to be wrong. Learning the hard way I guess. Anyway, I've changed stores of course and I'm in the process of setting up a RSR 525XL now, taking my time and doing it right.

The question I have is about the critters and stuff that are coming out of the live rock in the Biocube. (I'm using dry rock in the big tank set up). I've seen bristle worms, pods, and a few other things. Now I'm out of town on business and my wife just fed the fish in the Biocube. While feeding them she saw something on the glass and texted me a picture of what sure as heck looks like a small starfish on the glass. She says it's a bit smaller than a dime. Appears to be a whitish color.

The questions I have about the starfish are:

Is it bad for the tank?
Any special food for it?
Will fish / inverts hurt it and will it hurt fish / inverts? Tank has a goby with a pistol shrimp, firefish, a peppermint shrimp and a CUC.

Thanks for any info!!

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Text us the pic of the possible sea star.

OP
OP
J

jwt1603

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
star.JPG

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice !! We will now expect more , and a build thread.lol.

So..... toss it. Not bad but in numbers , ugly.

OP
OP
J

jwt1603

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Google search doesn't define as good or bad. Says a Harlequin shrimp will eat it but the shrimp will die once it eats all of them in the tank. Since it's only a 16G tank and it doesn't seem like there are many of them do I just wait and see what happens? I don't want to buy a shrimp knowing it's going to starve to death soon.

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges