Struggling with conflicting advise on how to deal with GHA

MzunguReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to all this and am struggling with conflicting advise on how to deal with GHA so any help would be massively appreciated.

My 15g tank has been running for almost exactly 12 months now and has been doing just fine until a month or so ago when there was a bunch of Cyano started appearing on the sand and then rocks.

Tank has plenty of rock, sand bed, 1 Royal Gramma, 2 x clowns, and some soft corals and LPs. I've attached a pic for reference, some pics taken straight after water change so some of the corals aren't fully open. My return pump puts out 1200 lph and flow is through RFG. I am going to add a wavemaker to try and increase flow in areas at back of tank, although flow is generally already OK, but just one or two areas that could be improved upon. Salt is Instant Ocean.

Parameters at start of outbreak (salifert kits)

Salinity 1.026
Temp 26°C
Nitrate 0.5
Phosphate 0.015
Alkalinity 7.6 dkh (usually stable at 8.2ish)
Calcium 355

I learned that cyano was likely due to my low nutrients. I don't run a skimmer or carbon etc, just a bunch of dry rock and bio filters. I do a 10l (about 25% of actual water volume after rock etc added) water change religiously once a week.

I started dosing Cyano Clean (live bacteria) and increasing my feeding to try and raise my nitrate and phos up.

Now, a month or so on my Cyano is almost completely gone but has been replaced by GHA which is growing all over now.

Current params

Salinity 1.026
Temp 26°C
Nitrate 2. 5
Phosphate 0.05
Alkalinity 8.2 (this generally stable)
Calcium 390

My LFS has told be that I should continue trying to raise my phos and Nitrates, but surely this is just adding fuel to the fire as it were?? Everywhere else I read that u need to reduce phos and nutrients.

Any help/pointers /advise/clarity would be very much appreciated.