Sump for beginners/overflow box

swoons

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been searching YouTube for help on where to start but a lot of the videos are on setting up the sump tank itself whereas I’m more concerned/lost on setting up the return. I’m completely new to the sump aspect of it and I’m trying to plan it out for my tank that I will be doing (40g breeder).

I’m wondering if drilling holes in my tank is the best method or if overflow boxes are easy and good to use? Does anyone have any suggestions on where to start or if there is a good guide I can be following for this. Any help is appreciated.

BitReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I drilled my own tank. It wasn’t too hard. Just watched some videos on YouTube and did what they did. Use a diamond hole saw and a good drill.

for me the hardest part was where to put the hole for my overflow. The template that came with my box seemed way too low. I felt like the water level was going to be 2” below the trim which I didn’t want. I raised up higher and it turned out fine.

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been searching YouTube for help on where to start but a lot of the videos are on setting up the sump tank itself whereas I’m more concerned/lost on setting up the return. I’m completely new to the sump aspect of it and I’m trying to plan it out for my tank that I will be doing (40g breeder).

I’m wondering if drilling holes in my tank is the best method or if overflow boxes are easy and good to use? Does anyone have any suggestions on where to start or if there is a good guide I can be following for this. Any help is appreciated.