SuncrestReef's plans for Reefer XL 425 build

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been researching and planning for a few months, and I think I'm now finally ready to pull the trigger on this project. This will be my first aquarium (reef or otherwise) and I don't want to skimp or cut corners. Now that I'm semi-retired I have time to devote to this hobby, but I'm also the type that would rather over-build right from the start rather than upgrade and grow a system over time. Below is a list of what I intend to purchase and how I envision setting it up. I'll also post a couple diagrams of my design. If you see any glaring design flaws, please let me know. I'll probably start ordering equipment in the next week or two, so the actual build is at least a month or more out depending on delivery times.

Aquarium
  • Red Sea Reefer XL 425 with black cabinet
Flow
  • Neptune COR-20 return pump
  • Manifold with gate valves from COR-20 to supply the reactors and UV sterilizer
  • Replace Red Sea return nozzle with dual nozzles
  • Maxspect XF230 Gyre pump
Filtration
  • Stock Red Sea sump
  • Stock Red Sea filter socks with added filter pads on top
  • Convert stock Red Sea ATO reservoir into refugium for chaeto
    • Refugium fed by pump in filter sock chamber below
    • Refugium overflow drains into skimmer chamber
  • Nyos Quantum 160 skimmer
  • Two AquaMaxx Fluidized GFO & Carbon media reactors
  • AquaMaxx BioPellet reactor
  • Pentair Aquatics UV 40 sterilizer
    • UV sterilizer fed by return pump manifold
    • UV sterilizer output drains into skimmer chamber
Lighting
  • Two Radion XR30w Pro G4 LED
  • Kessil H380 refugium light
Heating
  • Eheim 250W Jager in sump, controlled by Apex
  • Finnex HMO-150 in saltwater mixing tank, controlled by included Finnex controller
Controller
  • Neptune Apex 2016
  • Standard Apex probes in skimmer chamber
  • Two Neptune FMM units
    • Monitor flow on return pipe