Syoung's IM 25 Lagoon Build

Syoung

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys! I'm new to R2R, and wanted to share my build journey with you, at the same time that I am going through it. I've previously had a 10 gallon nano, with all HOB, so some of this AIO will be new to me! I've gone with the IM 25 Lagoon as I like the depth of the tank and it has a manageable water volume for an apartment.

My hopes for this tank are to have an aquascape approach bordering minimalist, and maintaining reasonable open areas, with most likely no corals permanently on the sand bed.

My setup:
  • IM 25 Lagoon
    • Currently stock return pump, however I may change it due to noise
  • 100W Cobalt Neo-Therm Heater
  • Hydor Coralia 425 Powerhead
  • Tunze Osmolator ATO w/ 1.25 Gallon Reservoir
  • Red Sea Pro Salt, kept at 1.025
  • Hydra 26HD
  • 25 lbs BRS Reef Saver Rock
  • 20 lbs Fiji Pink Live Sand
To start this build, I wanted to put some effort into creating the right stand for the tank. Rather than starting from scratch, I found an entertainment center for a good price (thanks Craigslist!), that was deep enough to hold the tank. Here it is below:

01414_50OA782zWCm_1200x900.jpg

To prep it for the tank, I got rid of the tube TV, took the doors and drawer out from above it, and made new doors and drawers for below.

20170709_121746.jpg

20170711_163507.jpg

Tank fits! The large blank space above the tank was originally going to be a TV mount, however my roommate provided a TV that is much too large for that space, so it'll be a nice spot for a painting. The door directly above the tank gives me 9" of access, and the cabinet below is great for electrical and storage. The final stand was given a grey paint scheme and hauled into place.

20170917_230408.jpg

OP
OP
Syoung

Syoung

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0