Tank not cycling using Dr Tims the One and Only

SimonDamminga

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am pretty new to saltwater tanks and I seek your advice.

About a week and a half ago I started the cycling proces for my newly set up tank by dosing a bottle of Dr Tims the One and Only Nitrifying bacteria.
I followed all the steps and I am a bit worried about the results.

Day 1: I added the bottle of bacteria and dosed about 2ppm of ammonia (also Dr Tims) and all seemd to be fine
Day 2: I checked the ammonia levels and they were 1.5ppm and the Nitrite was at 0ppm.
Day 3: The ammonia was still at 1.5ppm and I dosed another batch of ammonia just like the instructions say.
Day 4: I checked the ammonia and nitrite and values are still the same, so my thought was that someting is hapening because the ammonia stayed on 1.5ppm between the two da.
Day 5 - 9: The ammonia levels and the nitrite levels stay the same. 1.5ppm for ammonia and 0ppm for nitrite.

The testkits that I use are the Salifert test kits.
For substrate I used live sand and I used dry rock for my scape.
Water temp is 26°C (78.8°F)
PH is 8
Nitrate is around 25ppm from day one and has not changed (maybe a little but not a lot).

Based on this information and the instructions saying that you can add fish on day 9 because the tank should be cycled (or close to being cycled), I think Dr Tims is not working for me. So I was thinking of buying some live rock to jumpstart the cycling process.

Is this something you recommend or are there other recommended options?

OP
OP
S

SimonDamminga

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What about nitrate and phosphate?
You may never measure nitrite. With DR Tim’s I never seen it straight to nitrate in my case.
Nitrate is about 25ppm of what I can see. Nirtites are 0. Phosphate I don't know, because I don't have a testkit for that. I knew that you may never see nitrites when using Dr Tims.

I will keep testing my water daily/every other day.