TBS Liverock ID help - This is my first Rodeo

DriverForHire

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello I am new to reefing and went ahead and started with live rock and sand from TBS. I have only had the rock for 24 hours but wanted to get a headstart on potential issues with pests. Please help me ID whats going on here, loks like aiptasia and tube worms? Are tube worms something I need to worry about? Thanks!

Also sorry I am new to forums as a whole, not sure if this is the proper place to ask this question.

20240220_180812.JPG 20240220_180820.JPG 20240220_180834.JPG

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the hobby and the forum! This is the perfect place to ask about unidentified critters :)
TBS rock often contains curlique anemones, but these don't spread rapidly like other types of pest anemones. You can still remove them (many different opinions on the best way, and there's a sticky thread about them at the top of this hitchhiker forum).
The feather duster tube worms are harmless filter feeders. They're the kind of thing you bought the rock for :)

Upvote 0

EricR

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just in case you didn't notice, TBS has hitchhiker section for their live rock/sand on their web site:

TBS Hitchhikers

...quite a lot to sift through (multiple pages) but pictures of many possibilities, then click anything you find for more info (((has notes about reef safe or not)))

Upvote 0

CrimsonTide

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tubes you want. The nems are a personal preference. Like someone said look up on their website the hitch hikers guide. Those might be the ones that aren't as bad. As someone who is currently killing a boat load of aptasia I wouldn't keep them if they can spread profusely.

I got rock from them about 2 years ago. Great rock. I had clams and all kinds of cool things.

Upvote 0