These type of fish together?

Miss.Mindy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I'm planning on starting a saltwater tank. I'm an expert in freshwater fish and how to operate a tank. I am wondering if clownfish, Yellow Tang, Mandarin Dragonet, and Banggai Cardinal can cohabit. I want 2 clownfish. I read they should be kept in even numbers or I would get 3. Do Yellow Tang need to be kept in groups or pairs to be happy? What about Yellow Tang, Banggai cardinals, and Mandarin Dragonets? Do they need to be kept in groups/pairs?
I know I need anemones, and reefs for the clownfish. How big of a aquarium do you think I would need to house these fish? If a 75 gallon big enough, and does it need to be a long one? I just want a happy aquarium to give them the best life I can.

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Those fish should be fine together. Only get one yellow tang and no more than 2 clownfish. The mandarin needs to be a single fish too unless you get a male and female.
I'm less common with cardinalfish but from what I know they do fine in larger groups.

An anemone is not required to keep clownfish happy, and a 75 should be fine for those fish. The only fish that is even getting close to being too big for that tank is the yellow tang and it should be fine in a 75 but I personally wouldn't put it in anything smaller.

Tnops

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I'm planning on starting a saltwater tank. I'm an expert in freshwater fish and how to operate a tank. I am wondering if clownfish, Yellow Tang, Mandarin Dragonet, and Banggai Cardinal can cohabit. I want 2 clownfish. I read they should be kept in even numbers or I would get 3. Do Yellow Tang need to be kept in groups or pairs to be happy? What about Yellow Tang, Banggai cardinals, and Mandarin Dragonets? Do they need to be kept in groups/pairs?