Trident Users Check Accuracy

BRS

vic5hands

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
852
Reaction score
1,841
Location
New York
How many of you after calibration of the Trident check to make sure the calibration is accurate. You can run a test using the calibration fluid as the water sample to be tested. You have to run a test but my corals are worth it .
 

Gtinnel

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
1,851
Reaction score
2,401
I'm new to trident and only on my first set of reagents, but is there enough calibration fluid left to run a full test? I used my leftover to check my red sea tests. When I compare my red sea test results to trident they are the same within a reasonable margin or error.
 
Upvote 0
OP
vic5hands

vic5hands

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
852
Reaction score
1,841
Location
New York
I'm new to trident and only on my first set of reagents, but is there enough calibration fluid left to run a full test? I used my leftover to check my red sea tests. When I compare my red sea test results to trident they are the same within a reasonable margin or error.
yes there is plenty of calibration fluid to run a full test
 
Upvote 0

jamo130788

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 20, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
108
Location
Chicago
I tested the calibration fluid dkh with my Hannah and got a full 2 points difference .. I have the same difference when I measure my tank. Hanna says 9 - trident says 7. Went ahead and sent off an icp test and got the results back with a dkh of 9.1. All that being said , I think the calibration fluid is garbage ( well at least the couple bottles I got ). Not sure what do now because whenever you notify Neptune of this problem they blame the “3rd party test kits “ anyone else experience this ?
 
Upvote 0

Sea_Shanty_Corals

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
21
Reaction score
23
Location
California
I'm new to trident and only on my first set of reagents, but is there enough calibration fluid left to run a full test? I used my leftover to check my red sea tests. When I compare my red sea test results to trident they are the same within a reasonable margin or error.
You also don't need to calibrate after every reagent change. Sometimes the readings don't fluctuate at all. After a year of trident use I have probably 4-5 spare bottles of reagent between my two tanks
 
Upvote 0

Gtinnel

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
1,851
Reaction score
2,401
You also don't need to calibrate after every reagent change. Sometimes the readings don't fluctuate at all. After a year of trident use I have probably 4-5 spare bottles of reagent between my two tanks
Oh I thought it was supposed to be calibrated after replacing all 3 reagents. My trident out of the box was really far off on cal/mag before calibrating it. When I change reagents I will see if my readings still look correct.
 
Upvote 0
BRS

Do you have a battery backup plan in place?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 120 40.1%
  • NO

    Votes: 163 54.5%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 16 5.4%
Premium Algae Scrubbers from Turbo's Aquatics!
Top