UV steralization on salt mixing station?!

Connor-Waddle

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys! I know the title sounds ridiculous, why would you run a uv sterilizer on a mixing station? Long story short my step dad has had some health issues in the past which had led him to using a CPAP machine. With a CPAP machine you need to use distilled water due to the fact that it has no minerals or bacteria. As of now my RODI water is unusable to him because of the chance of bacteria. I have plans of setting up a smaller mixing station around 30 gallons both sides. Now this is where I need your guys genius! My ideas were to either have an inline uv sterilizer on the RODI reservoir drain, or could I go with a waterproof uv light on the lid that would passively sterilizer it? All opinions matter and if this is a ridiculous idea please let me know because in the end of the day I'm just a naive college student trying to save my faimly a buck LOL.

A Young Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
there are RODI units ( mainly for drinking purposes) that have a UV sterilizing membrane. maybe you could find this membrane sold separately and hook it up to your existing rodi unit. in theory both options you stated should work but I am not sure how effective are they.

OP
OP
Connor-Waddle

Connor-Waddle

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
there are RODI units ( mainly for drinking purposes) that have a UV sterilizing membrane. maybe you could find this membrane sold separately and hook it up to your existing rodi unit. in theory both options you stated should work but I am not sure how effective are they.
Where in the loop do you think it would be best to put something like that, I would think that the storage container poses a risk on contamination?

A Young Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0