UV Sterilizer for 150 gallon

rainsong

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi:

I am currently cycling a 150 gallon + 40B sump system. I am new to saltwater and have been watching a lot of BRSTv. They recommended adding a UV Sterilizer from the start. My clown pair is still in QT and have about 5 weeks more to go.

What brand/size UV do you recommend for pathogen control? What is the best way to plumb it into my system?

Thanks!

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have an Aqua Ultraviolet 57-watt UV on a Sicce SDC 6.0 pump. I added it after the fact to my stock Red Sea reefer 750XXL (200 gallons total). If you have a manifold or are planning one, you can plumb it in directly to your returns as an option (that will yield the best results as all the water returning to the tank has to pass through the UV).

I run my Sicce in the post filter sock chamber and direct it into the next chamber with my skimmer and reactors (just before the return pump chamber). It’s running @60% which probably generates a flow rate of around 650-750Gph (slightly less than my return pump).

Addendum: I just wanted to add that the separate pump has a fringe benefit - namely that it helps water circulation in the sump and eliminates any dead spots.

Last edited:
OP
OP
rainsong

rainsong

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have an Aqua Ultraviolet 57-watt UV on a Sicce SDC 6.0 pump. I added it after the fact to my stock Red Sea reefer 750XXL (200 gallons total). If you have a manifold or are planning one, you can plumb it in directly to your returns as an option (that will yield the best results as all the water returning to the tank has to pass through the UV).

I run my Sicce in the post filter sock chamber and direct it into the next chamber with my skimmer and reactors (just before the return pump chamber). It’s running @60% which probably generates a flow rate of around 650-750Gph (slightly less than my return pump).