Waterbox 220.6 stand and glass overhang

Max93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

this has had me paranoid for over a year and I’ve just “trusted” the design. Given that waterbox has great reviews I haven’t really worried about it. Doesn’t hurt to ask though!

attached is a picture of what I am talking about. Is this safe? I’m not an engineer so I imagine this company knows what they are doing. Is this something that will not last 10+ years?

image.jpg

OP
OP
Max93

Max93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Basically the front panel overhangs the stand, as that is how it is designed. I think the tank is just counting on the silicone for the pressure right? Well, the tank is perfectly level too but just a thought… doesn’t seem right

OP
OP
Max93

Max93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don’t have an engineering answer but considering that’s how all waterbox, Red Sea, and others are made -apparently the front glass doesn’t need to be suppprted.
That’s what I’m thinking too - but I’m worried that once these tanks are actively running for 10+ years we may start to see more posts of leaks. Just determining to see if I should get rid of this tank in 5 years or not. I’ve seen smaller tanks from other manufactures break at the bottom right and bottom left seams that have this same style.

aggrofish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a couple Red Sea tanks. Next tank I get will be euro braced - probably the Red Sea S series You bring up a good point though, what’s the lifespan of these rimless tanks?

OP
OP
Max93

Max93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a couple Red Sea tanks. Next tank I get will be euro braced - probably the Red Sea S series You bring up a good point though, what’s the lifespan of these rimless tanks?
Lifespan is important. $6000 tank id expect 20 years.