Natasha Mcvicker

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
E6C8BB76-FDA2-4239-B05F-E3732D90C4DB.jpeg
47E7D87F-0C65-4DD3-B32C-633AE917DF39.jpeg
First off, this is my first time posting anything on R2R. I’ve been a member for a short while, researching as much as I could for my new tank. A Waterbox 100.3. I was upgrading from a fluval 13.5 nano. I researched for months before deciding on the Waterbox, then found my LFS was beginning to carry them & quickly bought my 100.3 the beginning of September. I set up the tank, leak checked, cleaned, & meticulously set up & checked everything I added to the tank to get it ready to use. It has been a lot of work but, a lot of fun setting up, cycling, & transferring my fish buddies & corals to their much larger home. I even just added an ich ridden one spot foxface that I qt’d & treated while the tank was cycling. So, today I went to do my weekly WC and turned off my pumps and went to get my siphon and bucket. When I got back my dining room floor and sump area are full of water as the sump tank continued to overflow. I turned on the return pump to stop the flood and after cleaning up the mess figured out the reason for the overflow. I finally found a gap in the silicone where the front panel of the overflow attaches to the side panels are few inches from the bottom. So, when the water level goes below the overflow it continues to fill anyway through that gap. I guess the silicone was thin there on the inside & finally let go after 2 months. Of course, this happens on a Sunday afternoon. My family & I are leaving for vacation in 5 days & my QT tank is full with my next batch of livestock. If my power or the pump fails while I’m gone the sump will overflow in moments & I’ll possibly lose my fishies& corals. I have a house sitter but, he won’t know what to do. Not to mention the damage that will be caused to my house. I’m torn on what I should do (non refundable vacation so not going is not an option). Hopef