Waterbox Platinum frag 80.4

sierra

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I'm considering getting into the hobby. I'm not sure if I will try corals, but definitely would like some fish. I've been looking at some used tanks locally, all different sizes. Some 93 gallon squares, some 60 gallon cubes, etc. Currently, there is a good deal on a Waterbox Platinum Frag 80.4. It seems like a nice tank in great condition. My concerns are the dimensions of the tank (48x24x12). It seems extremely shallow, only 12" tall, and that doesn't account for substrate or the overflow height. Is this an acceptable water column height to keep any type of fish in? I know it is a frag tank, so it's not really made to house fish, but I have been looking at it just because it seems like a very good deal.

Thoughts?

Thank you

Buckyboy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no expert but I would think it would be ok for smaller fish or fish that like to stick near the bottom like watchman gobies, etc. but I would expect it to not have sufficient space for larger more active fish like tangs, etc.

OP
OP
S

sierra

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no expert but I would think it would be ok for smaller fish or fish that like to stick near the bottom like watchman gobies, etc. but I would expect it to not have sufficient space for larger more active fish like tangs, etc.

I know it's not big enough for tangs, I wouldn't want them either way. Biggest fish I would plan on getting is a foxface.

jimfish98

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0