Weird/fun brackish tank brainstorm

Hhaynie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no plans to build a brackish tank, but I heard a fun idea and wanted to expand on it.

fish
- a pair of Betta mahachaiensis
- 4 brackish bumblebee gobies
- 10 Psuedomugil signifer
plants
- mangroves
- dwarf sagittaria
- java fern
inverts
- aiptasia (yes, on purpose)
- amono shrimp
- nerite snails

macroalgae?
corals?

I'd love some collaboration, to try to find the venn diagram where it works and pushes the envelope. I'm new to the reefing world, so I don't know which corals or "reef fish" could adapt to the tank. my goal is a tank that makes people mad, until they look closer and see that it works.

Alvaro_Spain

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I´m not sure java fern can live in brackish water.
You should first determine what salinity are you calling "brackish". 50/50?. Like 1.016? If so, some saltwater fish can live in there. My local fish shop actually gets clown fish in 1.016 when they buy them.
mollies are cool in brackish tanks.

Subsea

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When I read, “I am new to Reefing and I like pushing the envelope“, I gather that you are young. So, I looked up your profile to see who I am talking to.

What happened to 90G school project you started last month?

GSP is easy enough to manage. I prefer it on back glass, Don’t let it get on prized live rock, I got a ping pong sized frag of GSP 5 years ago. This picture shows 5 years growth with no pruning until 1 month ago. Tank is 75G and has been set up for 25 years.

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Last edited:
OP
OP
H

Hhaynie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When I read, “I am new to Reefing and I like pushing the envelope“, I gather that you are young. So, I looked up your profile to see who I am talking to.

What happened to 90G school project you started last month?