What to pair with algae scrubber?

rsoueid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to reefing and I’m currently working on a 50 gallon build. I’m attracted to the idea of algae scrubbers due to their easy maintenance and ability to compete with lighting and reduce display algae. Now, I’m one to purchase all the parts and pieces before I begin to start something as to avoid any issues. It’s to my understanding that a well performing algae scrubber suitable for my feeding habits can work rather effectively without protein skimmers, fleece filtration media, etc. I’m just curious as to what components more experienced reefers would recommend pairing with a scrubber. Thanks.

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I personally would never run a tank without a skimmer. They provide much more then just foam fractioning. I also would never run a tank without a carbon reactor.

Only 3 things for filtration I run. ATS, skimmer, and carbon/gfo reactor.

R33fDaddy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Uv sterilizer Light is great combination to pair with an Algae Scrubber. With the UV light you can control any outbreaks of Diatoms or Cyano (which are not algaes but) bacteria.

I would however keep the skimmer because it does other things like adds oxygen to the water. I can't imagine going without filter floss because I don't want to see stuff floating in my tank.

Did you already get the scrubber?

OP
OP
R

rsoueid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No, I haven’t yet. Just trying to get my list written up so I can plan for the right sump.

Azedenkae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0