What's the dumbest thing you have done in the hobby

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
We all make mistakes, but what are some things you have done in the past (such as when you were new) that you thought "Why the heckin heck did I do that????" I find these stories funny so I figured I'd ask you all what is something you have done with your tank that was not so smart.

Henressy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was mixing salt for a water change for over 24 hrs then in the morning I went to do a test before and then me being a newbie I didn’t cover the new mixed tank water I dropped API test tube with chemicals into the new reef tank
I was so ticked I had to do a whole another batch !!!!!!

LiveFreeAndReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Listened to others' advice without doing my own research when just getting started. I was told "you HAVE to have a skimmer" "you NEED your nitrates and phosphates to be 0" and then BAM, fighting dinos for the next 2 months. Keep a skeptical mind, people want to help but they're not always helpful.

Porpoise Hork

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Accidentally mistook Coral RX concentrated dip bottle for amino acids...

Even with running carbon the tank smelled like Pine-sol for weeks... ;Facepalm

Spilled 30 gallons of salt water on the living room carpet.

I did something similar on my laminate floor... ;Wacky :p

Sean Clark

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A long time ago I killed a wrasse that was in the sand. I thought that I had all of the fish out of the old tank and into the new tank. I drained all of the water out of the old tank and moved it to the garage to clean it "later". I didn't realize that I had not transferred it to the new display until it was too late. I still beat myself up over this. :(

Lyss

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%