Which controller did you get?

n2585722

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Fellow reefkeepers, - you have confused me completely, which one should i get Hydro or Apex? I only care about PH, temp, and ATO,
A lot of it has to do with personal preference. They all can do what you want. It is just a matter of picking the ones that will do those functions for you. Also you may want to add things once you get into it so that may be something to think about when deciding. I have used the RKE and Archon from Digital Aquatics and several of the Hydros controllers. I have no experience with any of the others. If you want PH, temp and ATO your best bet with Hydros is on of the X4 starter kits. The X3 has a pH port but does not have a drive port for ATO. You can get the X3 Pro Pack when it becomes available with the XP8 included and use it for ATO pump drive. The X4 would leave you with more expansion without having to get another control unit to add since it has 2 probe ports (pH and/or ORP) 4 sense ports ( one is used for temp) the other three can be another temp, leak detectors, TDS meter, water level sensor ( you will need at least one for ATO, it comes in the ATO kit if you get the kit) and various other sensors. 4 0-10v inputs (breakout box and button box available third party for these). 4 0-10v outputs that can control pumps and lighting that can be controlled by a 0-10v control signal. and two drive ports which can control 12v pumps and solenoids among other 12v devices. I have float switches hooked to the sense ports on mine. They were already in place from the controller I was replacing with the Hydros. If you are in to DIY there is a good DIY section on the Hydros forum here https://forum.coralvuehydros.com/forums/diy-hydros.28/ .

Last edited:

DHill6

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0