Which par map should I choose for a Mixed Reef ? Newbie here

SomeHappyFish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I rented a par meter for the day here's my result...I can't decided what is best for my reef. I whish to start with soft/lps then move on to sps down the road (aka December 2024) which par map should I choose ?
Map.jpg

David_CO

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i own two par meters and honestly i dont think you need one, its good to get an idea of your lighting (which you have already done) but unless you plan to make significant changes to lighting or power output the use is pretty limited. I paid 500+ an apogee 510 and i basically only use it when i change lights.

OP
OP
SomeHappyFish

SomeHappyFish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i own two par meters and honestly i dont think you need one, its good to get an idea of your lighting (which you have already done) but unless you plan to make significant changes to lighting or power output the use is pretty limited. I paid 500+ an apogee 510 and i basically only use it when i change lights.
I rented one for 30$ good thing I did when installing my new k7 v3 because par was 500 at the top and 300 at the sand... I have a shallow tank haha

PotatoPig

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My 2c as someone venturing into LPS:

A lot of these don’t need all that high PAR and negative effects of too low par develop much more slowly and have a bigger window to address than the negative effects of too high par.

My LFS, for example, keeps their LPS tanks full of very happy looking torches, hammers, etc, at 90-100 PAR.

I’ve noticed mine seem much happier now I’ve dialed down the lights from ~150 into the upper end of this range.

Once they’re in the tank and settled you can slowly raise up PAR, giving them time to adjust, and this can push faster growth, but at the expense of a little more stress on them if you go too high and they’ll bleach.

OP
OP