Who keeps rotates return pumps?

b4tn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m thinking about getting a backup return pump. I have been using the same sicce syncra 3 for probably 4-5 years now and it dawned on me that I have no backup if it fails and I don’t think I have ever given it a good soak. I have taken it apart and brushed it off maybe twice which is to me a testament to sicce’s reliability. If I do get a back up it will probably be the same pump or maybe get the 4.0 and make the 3 a backup.

But I’m curious. How many actually rotate return pumps? The frugal part of me hates to spend $200 for a pump that’s going to sit on the shelf so I would have to rotate them to feel better about myself lol. Do you use the same brand? Do you prefer mag over DC? Seems to me the mag pumps are the gold standard for reliability.

Roytrolls247

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am in the same boat I do not have a back up at this time but I am running a Neptune COR pump right now so having a backup would cost me another $299 so I was thinking about using a cheaper option for my back up. I am not a baller lol :p :p

Jeffcb

Tang tang
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had one go out many years ago on a 100 gal reef. I had to scrabble to replace it and ended up with a lot larger pump than I wanted but had no choice. Pumps are much more readily available now than 30 yrs ago but that is an excellent idea to have a back up. I don't know if I would rotate it.

andrewkw

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are 4 options.

• Buy an identical return pump to swap.
  • Just re-purpose your mixing pump as an emergency return - this way the pump is being used, it's not just sitting but it will do the job. If you have an elaborate hard plumbed mixing station this is probably not for you, but if you're frugal and you just use a barrel this will work fine.