Why do you love your tanks?

Lizzybxi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am drafting a college essay right now and wanted to write about my hobby (fish keeping). I want to write the intro with a lot of descriptive imagery so the reader can close their eyes and vividly see a beautiful reef or planted aquarium. I wanted some feedback as to why you joined and stayed in this hobby. What about the fish/coral/chemistry interested you? How does it make you feel? I know its my college essay but I wanted to make it about the whole hobby since I'm a newbie to saltwater and because a lot of people think of it as a glass box full of water with fish. I know the majority of hobbyist see them as close pets just like any other dog, cat, etc.
This is the prompt I'm using
"Describe a topic, idea, or concept you find so engaging it makes you lose all track of time. Why does it captivate you? What or who do you turn to when you want to learn more?"

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Because it looks stunningly beautiful to have a living coral reef in your home......

To gaze at endlessly and watch the movement and life...

Nick Steele

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I enjoy the struggle of keeping such a complex ecosystem in my home. Having to deal with all the chemistry is an added bonus for me and I love to tinker and figure things out. Some corals will grow but not have good color for some reasons. Others will just perish out of the blue.

As for day to day things I just love the interactions that you can see between all the organisms. Clownfish will live inside certain corals that host them (mine are hosted by Xenia). Also you can watch all the small non introduced animals pop up out of nowhere. I have found pods,worms, snails and a few unknown creatures. All those popped up from frags that I’ve always dipped so they survived somehow.

WVNed