Why I hate spending a lot of money on frags

doubleshot00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Went to TopShelf and picked out a few really nice frags for my tank and had them shipped.

Ive been growing acros for a about 6 months now and have been overall successful. I figured some nicer pieces would be nice.

Well one bleached out overnight :frowning-face: Thats it for me paying more than $100 for a frag. Amazes me how so many people are willing to pay so much for these pieces. And to add to it my Yellow Cynarina started to show its skeleton after being in my tank for 3 months. Put it in my nano and it’s doing just fine. Always problems. Rant done

IMG_0211.jpeg
IMG_0212.jpeg

Wasabiroot

Valonia Slayer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Couple things - TopShelf are awesome people but I'd consider them a "premium" vendor so they're more expensive. Secondly, expensive acros are usually expensive from either sensitivity, slow growth, or challenge to color up (or just plain old supply and demand). Not every coral is gonna do well. But, I have to ask, what do you believe caused your Cynarina to start doing poorly? If that wasn't fixed, it could have caused mortality in the sps. Finally, some acros really hate dips. Smooth skins like echinata don't tolerate much

OP
OP
doubleshot00

doubleshot00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Couple things - TopShelf are awesome people but I'd consider them a "premium" vendor so they're more expensive. Secondly, expensive acros are usually expensive from either sensitivity, slow growth, or challenge to color up (or just plain old supply and demand). Not every coral is gonna do well. But, I have to ask, what do you believe caused your Cynarina to start doing poorly? If that wasn't fixed, it could have caused mortality in the sps. Finally, some acros really hate dips. Smooth skins like echinata don't tolerate much