• Aquaforest UNLS

Votes: 25 39.7%

• Total voters

Peng

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let's talk about the two systems designed to achieve ultra low nutrient conditions. I'm currently planning to decrease my NO3 (1.5ppm) a little further to get more pastel (intermediate level, not too pastel) looking colors on my acros. However I like to minimize the number of things I need to change and add. Currently considering either KZ or AF. However despite using their color enhancers I have no experience in using zeolite and do not know if in long term KZ is a simpler / more stable solution. With AF recommending using zeolites, carbon, phosphate minus - 3 types of media I'm a little turned away by this since I only need zeolites for KZ system. What are your thoughts and opinions?

Thanks in advance!

Blade*13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No first hand experience yet. But I am planning on using kz on my 60g cube I'm getting ready to setup

OP
OP
Peng

Peng

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thinking about KZ over AF too... I'm just afraid of starving corals too much

ksfulk

Working back towards clean
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ZeoVit doesnt directly reduce your Nitrates - they reduce ammonia, which become nitrates eventually, when processed by the bacteria in the tank. You'll eventually see a reduction in the nitrates through attrition (since there wont be the building blocks available to create nitrates), but its not doing it directly. I run the KZ system on my tank and I feed quite a bit of food and have a decent bioload in the tank. I dont dose a bunch of other random additives - just the three core components in the system (ZeoStart, ZeoBak, & SpongePower). I dont have any experience running AF, so I cant be of much help there.

I dont have pastel corals at all with my SPS, and Ive been running KZ Zeo since day 1 of this tank, and the entire tank is mainly SPS. Hope that helps :D

Blade*13