0 Phosphates

cillam

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello i am fairly new to the hobby and started back in early June so my tank is about 4 months old. I was not happy with my nitrate levels so i started carbon dosing vodka to lower them and for around the first 3 weeks i was noticing them go down and then they did not seem to go down any more, so i tested my phosphates with he API phosphate kit, and quickly realized it was useless as the smallest reading is .25ppm. So i bought a Salifert phosphate kit and it came back showing 0 even when doubling the reagents.

I then bought some brightwell neophos which i have now been dosing daily for a week but every time i test it comes back with 0, the Salifert test should be able to detect phosphates at .03ppm. I really don't want dinos, and carbon dosing does not seem to help with no phosphates so i have stopped with the carbon dosing when i noticed i had no phosphates around a week and a half ago.

my tank is a 60 gallon display with a 20 gallon sump and when taking into account water displacement i have around 65 gallons of water in the system, I have no major algae in the tank which could be absorbing the phosphates, and as far as nutrient removal just a filter sock which i have not replaced in a week, a protein skimmer, a refugium with cheato and a bag of activated carbon.

I was wondering if having the bag of activated carbon in the sump is stripping the phosphates away when dosing and that is why i am not seeing any phosphates.

Any advice or suggestions are appreciated.

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Activated carbon does not remove phosphates. This is an example of the negative side of carbon dosing in a new tank. New tanks are unstable and will have varying nutrient levels as the different bacteria, archaea, and algae come and go. The best remedy for high nitrates is a water change.

Fernthereefer