1-10V Settings for Tunze Powerheads

Ditto

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,929
Reaction score
2,581
Location
Albany, NY
On my one tank I have 4 power heads. I put two in each stream group and. I programed them for surge with a sinus wave. One is surge 1 the other group is surge 2.

It all depends on the effect your looking for. Do you have an idea what type of flow your looking for?
 
OP
paja3

paja3

YT/GreatBeardedReef and IG/GreatBeardedReef
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
3,532
Location
South of Boston, MA
Right now their on a factory want setting. Like a pulse or on off, on off etc. I guess I'm looking for more of an example of where to start voltage wise for on off or if you wouldn't mind sharing a screenshot of yours that would be awesome. Just for reference and I could go from there. Thanks for the reply @Ditto .
 

Lasse

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
7,061
Reaction score
21,350
Location
Källarliden 14 D Bohus, Sweden
Here is mine for a Tunze 6040. It is used as an wave pump with very short pulse. Around 0.7 sec has shown to give the best wave effect in an aquarium of 120 cm length IME.

1603700762044.png

Sincerely Lasse
 
OP
paja3

paja3

YT/GreatBeardedReef and IG/GreatBeardedReef
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
3,532
Location
South of Boston, MA
Here is mine for a Tunze 6040. It is used as an wave pump with very short pulse. Around 0.7 sec has shown to give the best wave effect in an aquarium of 120 cm length IME.

1603700762044.png

Sincerely Lasse
Thanks @Lasse I'll try this out once i get my splitter in from ghl, hopefully this week. I have a 48" tank so this should work nicely.
 

Macca_75

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
228
Reaction score
91
For whats it's worth I have 4 x pumps. I put each pump in it's own stream group, and set each group up as a Sinus wave. Each group has different Min/Max and Wave reduction values (to try and ensure flow is as random as possible).

Don't forget to set upper and lower voltage limits on the "L" interface (see below). I found the min by adjusting in 0.1v increments until the pump didn't start (weird how they are all slightly different).

1603762114639.png


I've also got them re-acting to feed mode (run at minimum)

1603762276722.png


And a maint mode if I want to shut all pumps off

1603762332931.png


I also have them all react to a Thunderstorm (pumps run at 100%) and just tuned the lights reaction down (Profilux runs the lights) so I don't get the flashes.

Hope this helps.
 
OP
paja3

paja3

YT/GreatBeardedReef and IG/GreatBeardedReef
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
3,532
Location
South of Boston, MA
For what's it's worth I have 4 x pumps. I put each pump in it's own stream group, and set each group up as a Sinus wave. Each group has different Min/Max and Wave reduction values (to try and ensure flow is as random as possible).

Don't forget to set upper and lower voltage limits on the "L" interface (see below). I found the min by adjusting in 0.1v increments until the pump didn't start (weird how they are all slightly different).

1603762114639.png


I've also got them re-acting to feed mode (run at minimum)

1603762276722.png


And a maint mode if I want to shut all pumps off

1603762332931.png


I also have them all react to a Thunderstorm (pumps run at 100%) and just tuned the lights reaction down (Profilux runs the lights) so I don't get the flashes.

Hope this helps.
Thanks @Macca_75, what does the Thunderstorm mode do? Randomize the pumps and how does it utilize this feature. Does it sync with actual weather somewhere or is it just a creative mode?
 

Macca_75

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
228
Reaction score
91
Thanks @Macca_75, what does the Thunderstorm mode do? Randomize the pumps and how does it utilize this feature. Does it sync with actual weather somewhere or is it just a creative mode?
You can set a value for each pump to run at when in "Thunderstorm" mode (I set all my pumps to 100% to try and create max flow in the tank a few times a day). You can configure the Thunderstorm mode under lighting.

As my Profilux also controls my Mitras lights you can get the whole strobing/dimming effect but I have chosen not to have this - it's very distracting.

In essence, I am using Thunderstorm mode as a way of turning every pump to 100% at a random interval of the day
 
OP
paja3

paja3

YT/GreatBeardedReef and IG/GreatBeardedReef
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
3,532
Location
South of Boston, MA
As my Profilux also controls my Mitras lights you can get the whole strobing/dimming effect but I have chosen not to have this - it's very distracting.

Love the Mitras, I opted to go with an 8 bulb ATI fixture for the time being as I'm trying to scrape money for a bubble king skimmer. Some day, I guess.
 

Do you have a frag tank, frag rack or some other place for coral frags currently?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 28 40.6%
  • No

    Votes: 39 56.5%
  • Other

    Votes: 2 2.9%

Online statistics

Members online
2,113
Guests online
5,281
Total visitors
7,394
Geo's Reef
Top