1 MP60 or 2 MP40's?

BRS

kingkongds

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
9
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Irvine, California
Hi Everyone...
I have been looking for an answer, but have not been able to find it. Maybe if someone can help point me in the right direction if this has already been answered.... or... help me with my question.

Tank: 160 gallon display tank / Peninsula tank / mixed reef / 3/4" glass / 72"length x 24"wide x 23"tall

Question: For the peninsula tank, I am planning to put the ecotech MP's on the side wall where the overflow is. Should I run 1 MP60 approximately 12" down from the top or.... do 2 MP40's approximately 1/3 ways down and 2/3 ways down?

Thoughts?
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

WVNed

The fish are staring at me with hungry eyes.
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
8,335
Reaction score
35,841
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Hurricane, WV
96x24x24
I have 4 MP60s in it. 2 on each end. I think you are being a bit optimistic about their capabilities.
2021110717260680-iOS-Upload-File-77480681-L.jpg

I use 2 MP40s in my 75 gallon tank.
 

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
6,123
Reaction score
9,931
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
I've never used the MP's due to the cost. However just having them on one side probably won't be enough. The idea is to have no dead spots for flow. So pumps on both ends and possibly even on the back wall may be necessary depending on the rock structure. Gyre pumps may also be something to look into.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

kzenoni

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 17, 2021
Messages
456
Reaction score
562
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Usa
Just get 2 mp40s. I have a pair on my 200g sps dominant tank and they kick out some serious flow. I don’t even run them at full power because they are so powerful.
I agree. Running all mine at 45% the only reason for two mps on each end is that my tank is 36 inches front to back.
 
OP
K

kingkongds

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
9
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Irvine, California
96x24x24
I have 4 MP60s in it. 2 on each end. I think you are being a bit optimistic about their capabilities.
2021110717260680-iOS-Upload-File-77480681-L.jpg

I use 2 MP40s in my 75 gallon tank.
Thanks WVNed! I have a Peninsula Tank and would like to run on 1 end only..

I've never used the MP's due to the cost. However just having them on one side probably won't be enough. The idea is to have no dead spots for flow. So pumps on both ends and possibly even on the back wall may be necessary depending on the rock structure. Gyre pumps may also be something to look into.
Jekyl.. thank you for the suggestion… I do want to keep it all on 1 side. I’m hoping to not have any dead spots. Using MP’s because I want to just control them from one controller and… no wires coming out of the display tank. I’ll definitely look into the Gyre pumps, never heard of before.

Just get 2 mp40s. I have a pair on my 200g sps dominant tank and they kick out some serious flow. I don’t even run them at full power because they are so powerful.

reefz… I might try this and see how it goes. Do you think the mp40 is strong enough to push water 6’ … I’m only planning to use one end… why I got a Peninsula tank.

I agree. Running all mine at 45% the only reason for two mps on each end is that my tank is 36 inches front to back.
kzenoni.. I have a peninsula tank.. just thinking to keep all the heads in one end… that’s why I was thinking maybe the MP60… but maybe the MP40 can push water 6’ ?
 

kzenoni

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 17, 2021
Messages
456
Reaction score
562
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Usa
Thanks WVNed! I have a Peninsula Tank and would like to run on 1 end only..


Jekyl.. thank you for the suggestion… I do want to keep it all on 1 side. I’m hoping to not have any dead spots. Using MP’s because I want to just control them from one controller and… no wires coming out of the display tank. I’ll definitely look into the Gyre pumps, never heard of before.

Just get 2 mp40s. I have a pair on my 200g sps dominant tank and they kick out some serious flow. I don’t even run them at full power because they are so powerful.

reefz… I might try this and see how it goes. Do you think the mp40 is strong enough to push water 6’ … I’m only planning to use one end… why I got a Peninsula tank.


kzenoni.. I have a peninsula tank.. just thinking to keep all the heads in one end… that’s why I was thinking maybe the MP60… but maybe the MP40 can push water 6’ ?
My tank was a 7 ft , I’m afraid that the one end won’t have enough current to do much but the other end would be blowing sand. With one on each end you will end up with good turbulence in the center of the tank.
 

Mywifeisgunnakillme

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
1,407
Reaction score
1,516
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Gig Harbor
Personally--and this may be over kill, but i like a lot of flow at times in my reef tanks--i bought six mp 60's for a 72 inch long peninsula. All will be on the overflow end as i can't stand--and would never have--pumps or cords on viewing panels.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock
OP
K

kingkongds

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
9
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Irvine, California
Personally--and this may be over kill, but i like a lot of flow at times in my reef tanks--i bought six mp 60's for a 72 inch long peninsula. All will be on the overflow end as i can't stand--and would never have--pumps or cords on viewing panels.
Do you have a picture of this by any chance? I am thinking of starting with 2 mp60's now...
 

blaxsun

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2020
Messages
5,408
Reaction score
4,575
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Saskatchewan
I have to disagree with this. I have 2 MP40's on one side, and 1 MP60 on the other side of my 6ft tank, and it's PLENTY of flow.
It depends on a lot of factors, including how your rockscaping is setup. You're saying you're good with 3; a few of us have suggested 4 - and the OP has 3. So he can try it with the 3 and see how it goes.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture
OP
K

kingkongds

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
9
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Irvine, California
Waiting on a few items to arrive but I am going to try running everything on the overflow side of my Peninsula tank to see how it goes... did a lot of asking and looking and it doesn't seem like there is much regarding Peninsula tank set ups....
For now, will be planning on running 2 MP60's on one end where the overflow box is located. I also purchased a Maxspect XF350 Gyre which I think I can attach it to the overflow box under the weirs.

I have not aquascaped the tank yet.. but will probably be doing a few islands with arches.... the rocks won't be extending past the half way height of the tank.
 
BRS

Have you ever had a nano reef tank?

  • I have one now (leave a photo in the thread)

    Votes: 84 53.5%
  • Yes, but in the past

    Votes: 33 21.0%
  • No and no plans to have one

    Votes: 20 12.7%
  • No but I want to have one in the future

    Votes: 18 11.5%
  • Other

    Votes: 2 1.3%
Subscribe to ReefStache so you don't miss out!
Top