1970's Black Light Corals

Spiffy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was in high school in the late 70's when black light posters were all the rage. I am setting up a reef and want to stock it with Acros...however I DO NOT want to run my lights so that the tank looks like a black light poster. Looking for suggestions on Acros that look great without the 'overly blue' light. :cool:

Thanks,

tehmadreefer

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's all preference but I think most corals will look great without all the blue or will just be less in your face colors.

kevinl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I graduated in 79, I like the black light look.
My zoa tank is 100% blue only - IMO no other way to view them.
My sticks are under radions, Start heavy blue then bump whites to 40% for 5hrs then back down.
When the tanks whiter my blue coral is pretty amazing, Tony's cookie monster, Oregon Tort & Garf bonsai.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Anything from ORA, anything on the Tyree LE list and most other corals other than the trendy rainbow A. Tenuis and any of the OG coral (cali and Oregon tort, Miyagi, GARF Bonsai, shortcake, etc.). There are some really nice newer corals that will stand the test of time and do not need trick lighting like RR Pink Cadillac and Fox Flame among many others.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I call them "Glamor Shot" corals. If you all graduated back then, then you know what I am saying and know what Glamor Shots were... used to cringe when a friend wanted to set you up with another friend and pulled out a Glamour Shot. The first thing that you always did was ask for a normal photo.

Heard them called Beer Goggle corals too.

Big E

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Being a Sienfeld fan I call them two face corals-

With excessive blue lighting--
two face good.jpg