chris.gries.50

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am an elementary school teacher. I am starting thread to document the progression on a 29 gallon clownfish tank that I am building at the school I work at. I was able to get most of the equipment and some of the livestock through writing grants. I plan to use the tank to teach students about saltwater reef tanks. I am going to use it as a catalyst to study different subjects, such as symbiotic relationships, ocean reef habitat, chemistry, aquaculture, and maintaining a reef tank. I have a lot of idea's and directions I want to go in.

Equipment:
29 gallon Aqueon tank
Marineland H.O.T canister filter (circa 2012-oldy but goody, used for carbon, polishing water, and water movement)
AI Nero 3
AI Prime with mount
Gravity fed ATO with float valve connected to a 1 gallon container
Hygger temperture controller
Eheim 75 watt heater
Carribsea Liferock
Sand
Livestock:
2 x Oscellaris clowfish
3 x Multi-color bubble tip anemone
1 X Anemone shrimp
3 x Blue leg hermit crabs
1 x Trochus snail
1 x Orange starfish

IMG_4864.jpeg

IMG_4867.jpeg

IMG_4866.jpeg

Last edited:

happyhourzhao

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is a fantastic setup! I'm hoping that bubble tip can split a couple of times and fill that tank up with some nice color and activity. This is something we definitely didn't have growing up in our classroom, I'm excited for these kids who get to enjoy it with you(and the rest of us reefers!).

OP
OP
chris.gries.50

chris.gries.50

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is a fantastic setup! I'm hoping that bubble tip can split a couple of times and fill that tank up with some nice color and activity. This is something we definitely didn't have growing up in our classroom, I'm excited for these kids who get to enjoy it with you(and the rest of us reefers!).