3 ro membrane

t5Nitro

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is awesome. I'm no expert in water saver kits but whoa. Need to add at least 1 water saver kit to my 75GPD unit!

t5Nitro

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Question for you would it be best to run a dual RO membrane in parallel or should it be run in series so the second membrane catches more? I'm wondering why previous posters say you're going to burn through the third membrane quickly. Theoretically that should be your cleanest water out of all of those membranes? But yeah I see your tds is highest at the second and third. Why does tds rise after membrane 1?

chipmunkofdoom2

Always Making Something
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is awesome. I'm no expert in water saver kits but whoa. Need to add at least 1 water saver kit to my 75GPD unit!

You probably don't. Most people don't. The "waste" produced by a hobby RO system is negligible in all but the most fringe cases. For a 100 gallon tank that needs 1 gallon of top off a day and 40g for water changes a month, an RO filter will probably only use 210 gallons of water (assuming a 2:1 brine to permeate ratio). Tap water in the US costs a penny for 5 gallons, which equates to $0.42/month to run your RO unit. Even if you can cut your brine flow in half, you're only saving about 70 gallons a month, or fourteen cents. Even if your water costs are 10x average, another membrane will likely only save you a dollar a month.

Also, the average family in the US uses 300 gallons per day, or 9,000 gallons a month. Using 210 gallons per month to run your RO filter is a drop in the proverbial bucket.

KenO

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0