32g Figi Cube - Mix Reef Startup

This1Guy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, thought I would drop in and introduce myself as I'll likely troll these boards for years to come and ask many questions. I'm sure my wife is also getting tired of me talking about this stuff so here I am.

I am new to the hobby as I've not kept saltwater tanks to date. Only freshwater cichlid and oscar tanks as I grew up. I've been a long time fan of the reefing hobby and recently made the decision to jump in, with the wife's support of course ;).

I often told myself that I'd wait for retirement to start this hobby. Why did I start now? Well, I've been working from my home office for a little over a year as a result of the pandemic. I spend a vast majority of my day in our family's home office and do not see my position returning to the office full time. It's the one room in the house that's been neglected since moving in 10+ years ago. Stress runs high at times and I was thinking what would help... A NEW TANK.

The idea started out as a standard 40g breader, quickly ramped up to 100g+ in our basement, to running a display tank on my main level while all the equipment was in the basement. I settled on a 32g with matching stand. I'm happy with the all in one cabinet system. It fits our space and realistic for a first set up IMO.

Below are the items I've purchased. I've done some research and made purchase based on what I feel is worth the expense while knowing I can upgrade areas later.

ItemDescription
Display32G Fiji Cube Ext Overflow; Black Stand
Sump9G Fiji-12; 6G Freshwater Auto Top Off Reservoir
HeaterBRS 100W Titanium Heater w/ WiFi; Second, Backup Heater & Duel Probes
RockMarcoRocks Dry Live Rock & Foundation Rock
SandCaribSea Special Grade Arag Alive Reef Sand - 1-2mm
Water7 Stage RO/DI System
Water Storage(2) 15 Gallon Freshwater/Saltwater Storage Barrels
Lighting(2) AI Prime 16 HD LED - Black Body & Mount