3D Printed Filter Roller

Sold4jc7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 66.7%
2   1   0
I'm new to 3d printing but wanted to see if I could add a filter roller to my tank. I had limited space and didn't want to change my plumbing, so I spent some time on Tinkercad. The holder for the new fleece and the roller for the used fleece are both separate pieces that I attached to my stand. The return pipe is 1.5" and drains directly into the filter roller cage. I'm not sure what my flow is through my overflow but I'm using a Clarisea SK-3000 roll.

20210116_161234.jpg 20210116_161258.jpg 20210119_133728.jpg 20210119_131849.jpg

Red_Beard

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to 3d printing but wanted to see if I could add a filter roller to my tank. I had limited space and didn't want to change my plumbing, so I spent some time on Tinkercad. The holder for the new fleece and the roller for the used fleece are both separate pieces that I attached to my stand. The return pipe is 1.5" and drains directly into the filter roller cage. I'm not sure what my flow is through my overflow but I'm using a Clarisea SK-3000 roll.

20210116_161234.jpg 20210116_161258.jpg 20210119_133728.jpg 20210119_131849.jpg
Nice, that looks awesome! Ive been wanting to do something like this too. Is yours motorized? Or do you have to manually advance the spool?

Red_Beard

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Red_Beard, as of right now, it's manual. This was the first attempt for proof of concept. I'm already thinking about motorizing it and adding a float switch connected to my apex.
Still very cool. Looks like it should work fine as long as you dont forget to turn it. You will have to update when you automate! Thanks for the inspiration :)

OP
OP
Sold4jc7

Sold4jc7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 66.7%
2   1   0