40g cube flow advice for a newbie

lime_II

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I am new to reef2reef as a member but frequently spend time here reading and trying to absorb as much info as I can :)

I am slowly starting my first reef tank. The only gear I have right now is an Aquatop AIO 40g cube. My plan is to start the tank with live rock and sand as well as inverts from Tampa Bay Saltwater's "The Package". I hope to let the tank settle in for a month or so before adding fish and corals to get comfortable with ongoing maintenance/testing and just enjoy the live rock and all the little critters. Eventually, I want to add a few fish and softies/LPS corals. I feel like I have a pretty good grasp on the basics of calculating flow but, being a newbie, I am still looking for a bit of advice.

Right now I'm considering 2 Tunze Turbelle Nanostream 6025s (740 GPH) to supplement the tank's stated filtration flow rate at 475gph. Added up, all three sources produce a flow rate of around 50x the tank volume. My first concern is whether this is too much flow for soft corals. My second concern is whether this is enough flow for all of the filter feeders, sponges, etc. on the live rock (as I'm assuming they like higher flow?). Finally, is there anything special about flow for cube tanks that I might be missing? As far as I know, flow works basically the same for cubes and rectangular tanks...

I would like to upgrade to a controllable system eventually. However, right now most of my budget is going towards the TBS package so I would like to spend less than $150 on powerheads.

Thanks in advance for any advice. Thoughts on my general plan of action are also welcome!

fishguy242

Cronies..... INSERT BUILD THREAD BADGE HERE !!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
hi welcome to the reef going to love it here!!
lots of fun/info/fun/help/fun....