View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hanna Instruments 7 in 1 Marine Checker/Photometer

^ ^
II II
II II
Has anyone had any experience with one of these? I know they are new to the market; I don't even know if they are released yet. But it seems like the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Would love to hear all of your opinions.

I am quite new to the reef game; I currently have about a 6 week old Fluval 13.5 with several recommended [ from you guys :) ] upgrades.
Tank inhabitants include:
2 benggai cardinal fish, emerald crab and 3 snails, LTA, green birdsnest, two zoa varieties, green leptoseris, emerald city cyphastrea, and molten lava chalice.

I am using these water test kits. Are these reliable? How often I should be checking the tank and which should I check more than others?
Fluval Saltwater Check Kit: pH, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate
Salifert Phosphate
Salifert Alkilinity
ATI Calcium

Phosphate kit can be difficult to read accurately. Most importantly, I have trouble reading the phosphate kit. Are there any others out there, both digital and non-digital, that I can use instead? Not trying to break the bank here, but will if you all think it is necessary.

Thanks all, have a happiest day!

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No experience, but from what I understand it basically combines those 7 separate test kits into one with a logging feature and more instructions. If you don't have any Hanna kits and were planning to get some - it's probably a good investment.

I don't have any experience with the Fluval kits, but the Salifer ones are reliable. I like Nyos for nitrates and phosphates but also run the Hanna digital kits.

yanetterer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I like the individual eggs better. I can independently test instead of waiting for 1 to complete before testing for another.