Acclimation to new light?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Lighting By Dana Riddle' started by Zweiday, Apr 20, 2017.

1. Zweiday

Zweiday Well-Known Member

Hi everyone I just bought an ai prime hd and basically want to know if i should slowly acclimate my corals to the light instead of just running it full blast day of, my tank is a 13g that has stock lighting that im going to be switching from, so it'll be a difference i suppose. I also have another question if anyone else uses the ai prime would like to help me find the right colors/intensity for my tank that would be great. thanks guys.

Tags:
  2. donnievaz

donnievaz Well-Known Member

Absolutely acclimate. I don't know what your stock lighting was but there's a good probability that it's nowhere near as strong as the Prime.

saltyfilmfolks likes this.
  3. Zweiday

Right of course thats what i was thinking the stock came with my fluval 13g aio its a 14k led, not the best, so im still pretty new to reef keeping and in the lighting area im lost, do you have an idea what i should do, like ramp it up slowly over a few weeks? i havent done anything with the light yet i want to make sure i know what im doing

4. donnievaz

What corals do you have in the tank?

5. Sm51498

Sm51498 Well-Known Member

acclimation is great, you should ALWAYS do it. unless you have empirical data to support that your new light will deliver less light than your old, I would never risk not acclimating. I have both of these lights and I know the AI is much more directly powerful than the stock light.

6. Zweiday

Quite a few, some zoas, softies, lps, sps a variety in all honesty a lot to name do you actually want the names of all or is that ok?

Right i completely agree with you

7. Salty1962

Salty1962 Wrasse and SPS Lover R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor