Algae ID

JamesP

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The last few weeks I have had algae popping up and im just trying to get a general ID of it. I started running gfo and cut back on feedings and Im considering running flucozanole for a few weeks, but Im not very experienced in algae ID so I wanted some opinions. I have a brown thicker algae that seems to form bubbles on it and a green hair looking algae with tons of little white dots that look like copepods crawling in it. Nitrates are 0.25 red sea and phosphates are 0 since adding gfo with hanna.
292f5e3b2897681ce50b191e4c33e95d.jpg

be40facb3f6b9a25b36bfcea8a8158a2.jpg

5b76ea827c6dd1118c0e62c12bbb784e.jpg

If i clean it up manually nitrates go up a little so i am guessing it is consuming my nutrients giving a false sense of low levels. I feed a small piece of nori daily and one frozen cube with selcon. Was thinking about cutting the frozen cube back to every other day. No anthias or anything that would need lots of frequent feedings.

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To me it looks like a turf algae but has some brown slime and cyano growing in it.
At that point of infestation I would recommend Vibrant rather than Fluconazole. The flucon just wont be effective enough.

The vibrant will likely drop your nutrients so you may want to pull the gfo when you dose it.

OP
OP
JamesP

JamesP

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks I was considering that as well. I actually have zero clean up crew right now too which im sure doesnt help. When i nuked the dt with cupramine to treat ich and aiptasia due to not quarantining when i first started, it did a great job of fixing those issues but the tank just got super nasty from the invert dieoff from copper.