Alkatronic Users Thread

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by Wrasse-cal, Nov 4, 2018.

  1. Wrasse-cal

    Wrasse-cal Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    416
    I pulled the trigger and bought the Alkatronic. Hopefully it'll arrive in the next few weeks.

    I couldn't find a centralized thread on R2R where users of the Alkatronic could share their experiences, offer advice, or solicit help from @JonasRoman, even though I know there are more than a few members who use the Alkatronic (@BrianReefer, @acesq, @mitch91175, @markstubb)

    So in anticipation of being a (new) happy Alkatronic user, I started this thread!

    [​IMG]
     
    Kyl, JDtimk and mitch91175 like this.

  2. mitch91175

    mitch91175 Valuable Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    919
    Location:
    Rowlett, TX
    Haha! Welcome to the party @Wrasse-cal!!! You're gonna love the Alkatronic.
     
    Wrasse-cal likes this.
  3. angminsoon

    angminsoon Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Singapore
    Yes you are going to love it
     
    Wrasse-cal likes this.
  4. BrianReefer

    BrianReefer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    71
    Agreed! I don’t know how I’d survive without it at this point! Let me know if you have any questions, happy to help.
     
    Wrasse-cal likes this.
  5. JDtimk

    JDtimk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    142
    A new alkatronic user here as well. Following along!
     
    Wrasse-cal likes this.
  6. Wrasse-cal

    Wrasse-cal Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    416
    So I read that the reagent solution can be discarded back into the tank after testing.

    How many of you do this?
     
  7. JDtimk

    JDtimk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    142
    I started out disposing of the waste into a separate container while I tried to find out exactly what the reagent is composed of and ultimately decided it seemed safe enough to return to the tank. Definitely no short term negative effects of doing so as of week two.
     
  8. spartanman22

    spartanman22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    490
    Hey all I am in the market and currently debating between Alkatronic and GHL KH Director. I have a bit of confusion on how the Alkatronic works. It’s my understanding that the Alkatronic can make alk dosing adjustments based on the testing results. How is this accomplished?

    For example I currently dose AF Component system with a GHL doser 2.1. How would the Alkatronic tell my GHL doser to up alk dosing based on the reading? Or is a separate doser required that works with the Alkatronic?
     
    Tri3unguy3n and SneakyTortuga like this.
  9. JDtimk

    JDtimk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    142
    Does anyone else have difficulty accessing the web based platform? My BT app works great, but I haven't been able to access any information through the web portal. I can log in, but no info shows and I have no options available on the webpage that loads for me.
     
  10. JDtimk

    JDtimk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    142
    You can either use the alkatronic's built in alkalinity dosing pump that will adjust alk based on the readings from the testing it does or you can use a BNC to connect to a controller that will read the alk test data and use it to make adjustments you specify to the dosing equipment it controls.
    For instance, if the data reads higher than you want your alk, then you program your controller to suspend dosing or turn off your CO2 solenoid or your feed pump on your Cal Rx. If the alk reads low, then you can program your controller to dose a certain amount of alk solution as a one time adjustment to your dosing regimen.

    I let my alkatronic dose to keep up on alk if it reads low, but I actually aim for my alk to be on the high side of my parameters so that the alkatronic shuts off my Kalkwasser dosing pump until the levels come back into range. So far using that method I have maintained my alk between 8.2 dkh and 8.4 dkh without dosing any alk solution at all. I fine tune my two part dosing to minimize the time the alk rises above my upper dkh parameter.

    My goal is to minimize my testing frequency and minimize the amount of alkalinity solution adjustments I make.
     
    Wrasse-cal likes this.
  11. Wrasse-cal

    Wrasse-cal Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    416
    Hmmm. This is what Saltwateraquarium.com wrote about the reagent:

    "STORE LOCKED UP
    Keep away from children. Not for human consumption and is harmful to aquatic life. May cause cancer.

    Do not handle until all safety precautions have been read and understood. Avoid release to the environment. Wear protective gloves and eye protection."
     
  12. spartanman22

    spartanman22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    490
    This is likely directly from the SDS. I am not familiar with what the reagent is, but I vaguely recall someone mentioning it was an acidic solution.

    For what it’s worth, I started my career as a Laboratory Supervisor. This was right about the time that the US switched to the GHS system - which was when we went from MSDS (material safety data sheet) to SDS (safety data sheet), I know revolutionary! Well in the process of converting all lab supplies from MSDS to SDS I found out some interesting information about lots of stuff. We used GOJO hand soap, and the SDS for the hand soap said to avoid contact with skin . In my opinion SDS’ tend to be over precautious.

    With that being said, I do not know what the reagent is so best to do your own investigative research.
     
  13. Wrasse-cal

    Wrasse-cal Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    416
    Hi guys, I got my alkatronic yesterday and have a couple of questions:

    1. What do you guys use to store the KH buffer and reagent?
    2. The instructions give some pretty limiting regarding the distance and height of the reagent bottle from the alkatronic. Do you all follow these?
    3. I bought some dosing vessels that have mur-lol push connect fittings. Would there be any downside in using those? If not, can anyone recommend an adaptor?
     
  14. TMB

    TMB Active Member R2R Supporter AZ FRAG Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Yes I followed the distance and height instructions - but I bet you could get away with a little variance since the reagent pump can be calibrated for correct volume.
    When I got my Alkatronic (2/2018) they originally came with 1 bottle of ready to use reagent like this:
    upload_2018-11-16_14-50-18.png
    I just drilled a small hole in the cap, and slid the supplied hard tube into it. I refill the bottle when it gets low.
    I don't think they come this way anymore, but any similar solution would work.
    I would just use something that limits evaporation, because that will change the strength of the solution.
     
    Wrasse-cal likes this.
  15. Tri3unguy3n

    Tri3unguy3n New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone I just got mine hooked up and I'm learning so ill be follwing along. Thanks for all the info!

    David
     
  16. Tri3unguy3n

    Tri3unguy3n New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is a BNC? Im trying to use my alkatronic just to test and have my doser dose alk. Im new to the hobby so any info is appreciated. I currently only have a 5 head gold torch and some torcha from indo. Not too much inventory yet so im still trying to learn how to dial in doser. I just hooked up my doser pumps and I'm now dosing alk cal and mag. Thanks for any help
     
  17. IronVulture

    IronVulture Valuable Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Meadows Place Texas
    Bnc is a type of connector. Go to the menu and disable “Action Mode” and the alkatronic will only measure. You can use that measurement to adjust your dosers manually
     
  18. IronVulture

    IronVulture Valuable Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Meadows Place Texas
    [​IMG]

    Santa came early, and for some reason he was wearing brown instead of red. Lucky me.
     
    TMB likes this.
  19. David Cher

    David Cher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    94
    The bluetooth plug is it to control the feeder pump to the cr or the co2 solenoid ???
     
  20. hart24601

    hart24601 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,893
    Likes Received:
    2,894
    Location:
    Iowa
    Where did you buy these? I can't seem to find any in stock.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...