Anenome help

fugetaboutit05

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Anenome Help

Hello, i am new to the saltwater community and i believe i may have made a crucial error. Decided i was going to start up a saltwater reef tank, did my reading, knew i had to take it seriously.

Setup : 55g tank ; eheim 600 classic @ 264gph ; 200w heater ; (2) Koralia power heads @ 565gph (placed left side rear 2” below water surface and right side front 3.5” below water surface.) each power head pointing across length of tank ; CoraLife Seascape L.E.D. Lighting @ Avg output 12” 65 par peak (42 avg)

Habitat : crushed coral substrate, (1) large live rock, several dry rock placed in tank.

Livestock : (2) Fire/Cinnamon Clowns (1 medium size female, 1 small male) ; Green Wolf Eel ; (2) Hermit Crabs ; (2) Anenomes

Tank parameters : as of 8am 1/26/21
PH - 8.2
AMMONIA - .75 (spiked from .15 previous day)
NITRITE - 0PPM
NITRATE - 40 PPM
SALINITY - 1.024
TEMP - 82 DEGREES (F)

Right now the clowns and the blenny are fine, no signs of stress or struggle. Crabs as well.

However, this i believe is my crucial error, the Anenomes. The first is a Long tentacle anenome. A beautiful purple tentacle, red footed Macrodactyla. When fully bloomed tentacles are about 4”-6”, disc is 5” in diameter (est). The Anenome has taken hold in the substrate since its first day and has bonded with both clowns. Has taken food and goes thru its deflating cycle at night, coming back to full bloom in the morning. I have noticed that its mouth, is now open consistently and i have noticed a white-ish discharge coming from it. I don’t want to lose it, so any advice on how to save it, please. It would be much appreciated.

CanuckReefer

Simple...Salt, Water, LR, Lighting and Flow.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Anenome Help