Apex Salinity probe keeps dropping?

MarsReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am in the process of setting up my first tank and i'm having trouble with my apex salinity probe. The salinity probe itself is fairly old about 3 years old but it was never opened or used as I had my apex on a freshwater tank. I opened it up and calibrated it in my new tank and initially it seemed fine. It read 35 ppt and agreed with my refactometer.

However over the past 3 weeks it keeps dropping lower and lower and lower. I haven't done any water changes, just ATO as my tank gets established. Refractometer still reads 35 ppt. Below is what it looks like over a week, its currently down to about 23.

Salinity.JPG

Any idea what is causing this or how to fix it?

Lasse

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no experiences with Apex salinity probe but with GHL:s. When they do as this - is normally air bubbles that cause it. Test if it gets better if you take it up - clean it an put it back. If it this way - you need to place the electrode in the way that is a steady and fast flow over it. (and without bubbles)

Sincerely Lasse

Last edited:

Been Caught Reefin

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Where is the probe? I had this exact issue and my probe was in my first chamber where the DT drain was and a skimmer. The tiniest bit of trapped air will mess with the reading. I moved my salinity probe to the return pump chamber where there are no bubbles and it has read steady ever since.

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I love my Apex, but, the Salinity meter isn't accurate at all. Mine goes all over the place all day.
This is because your temp compensation either isn't enabled or isn't set correct. The one in my mixing barrel needs 2.8 to stabilize. The one on my cube and mixed reef need 2.2 to stabilize.

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges